A Computer hardware and components forum. ComputerBanter.com

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » ComputerBanter.com forum » System Manufacturers & Vendors » Dell Computers
Site Map Home Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

voltage level readings in the BIOS?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old June 28th 06, 09:12 PM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.dell
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default voltage level readings in the BIOS?

Can you tell me where there is a voltage level reading in the BIOS
of a Dell Dimension 5150?

Thank you.







  #2  
Old June 28th 06, 09:52 PM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.dell
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default voltage level readings in the BIOS?


"John Doe" wrote in message
...
Can you tell me where there is a voltage level reading in the BIOS
of a Dell Dimension 5150?

Thank you.

Voltage level readings for what? Never seen them in a Dell BIOS


  #3  
Old June 28th 06, 10:35 PM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.dell
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default voltage level readings in the BIOS?

"Tom Scales" wrote:


"John Doe" wrote in message
...
Can you tell me where there is a voltage level reading in the
BIOS of a Dell Dimension 5150?

Thank you.

Voltage level readings for what?


An Award BIOS used for most branded mainboards shows voltage levels
for the power supply outputs, the CPU, the battery, and others.

Never seen them in a Dell BIOS


OK, thanks.



  #4  
Old June 29th 06, 12:18 AM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.dell
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default voltage level readings in the BIOS?


"John Doe" wrote in message
...
"Tom Scales" wrote:


"John Doe" wrote in message
...
Can you tell me where there is a voltage level reading in the
BIOS of a Dell Dimension 5150?

Thank you.

Voltage level readings for what?


An Award BIOS used for most branded mainboards shows voltage levels
for the power supply outputs, the CPU, the battery, and others.

Never seen them in a Dell BIOS


OK, thanks.





Dells and most other OEM systems I've seen have not offered that feature. I
do have such a feature (temps, fan speeds, VCore and other voltage readings)
on my homebuilt system (ASUS motherboard).

Some boxes built by a local vendor may or may not offer such.




  #5  
Old June 29th 06, 01:34 PM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.dell
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default voltage level readings in the BIOS?


"John Doe" wrote in message
...
Can you tell me where there is a voltage level reading in the BIOS
of a Dell Dimension 5150?

Thank you.







Dell motherboards don't have the voltage level reading feature. Dell BIOS
are dumb downed and do not have all the features of a ASUS or Gigabyte,etc.
motherboard that you purchase off the shelf and build yourself. Same with
overclocking features, temperature features that come on my ASUS
motherboards, Dell decided to leave these types of features out of Dell
BIOS.

J.S.


  #6  
Old June 29th 06, 03:45 PM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.dell
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default voltage level readings in the BIOS?

I would try a 3rd party freeware program to monitor voltage levels, fan RPM, and
heat. However, I'm at a loss to name one. Intel provides one for its own
Intel-branded boards, but it does not work with Dell BIOSes. I've tried to
install it.

I doubt that the sensors were left off the Dell motherboards when manufactured.
It usually costs more to omit hardware from a standard design than to leave it
there. The Dell motherboards are based on straight-down-the-middle Intel
designs with some changes in layout.

As for overclocking, why do it? Overclocking simply involves running one or
more hardware elements (CPU and sometimes chipset or memory timings) out of
spec, not a good idea for reliable operation. Engineering specs are there to
be followed, not ignored. The gains in performance from overclocking are
nominal, except maybe for gamers... Ben Myers

On Thu, 29 Jun 2006 08:34:37 -0400, "J.S."
wrote:


"John Doe" wrote in message
. ..
Can you tell me where there is a voltage level reading in the BIOS
of a Dell Dimension 5150?

Thank you.







Dell motherboards don't have the voltage level reading feature. Dell BIOS
are dumb downed and do not have all the features of a ASUS or Gigabyte,etc.
motherboard that you purchase off the shelf and build yourself. Same with
overclocking features, temperature features that come on my ASUS
motherboards, Dell decided to leave these types of features out of Dell
BIOS.

J.S.


  #7  
Old June 29th 06, 09:40 PM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.dell
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default voltage level readings in the BIOS?

There is one called Everest here.
http://www.majorgeeks.com/download.php?det=4181
It works on my system, but I haven't tried it on the Dell system yet.


Path: newssvr12.news.prodigy.com!newsdbm05.news.prodigy. com!newsdst02.news.prodigy.com!prodigy.com!newscon 02.news.prodigy.com!prodigy.net!nx01.iad01.newshos ting.com!newshosting.com!69.28.186.75.MISMATCH!hwm npeer01.lga!news.highwinds-media.com!hw-filter.lga!fe02.lga.POSTED!53ab2750!not-for-mail
From: Ben Myers ben_myers_spam_me_not charter.net
Newsgroups: alt.sys.pc-clone.dell
Subject: voltage level readings in the BIOS?
Reply-To: ben_myers_spam_me_not at charter.net
Message-ID: dhp7a2pvhgro5t1tsqrdt8u0fej45ea6bg 4ax.com
References: Xns97F09AB359E480123456789 207.115.17.102 yNPog.58352$9c6.43192 dukeread11
X-Newsreader: Forte Free Agent 1.93/32.576 English (American)
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=us-ascii
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
Lines: 43
X-Trace: ejlmlnpfppkfdeplolecdcadmmgpmklgpdaobeepojdapiajjp aicpplopmgdagmfojkmlcoaidkngofplikpbaaekdchleomdlb bedbkagppkbkenmghfbkafimdhdjbcfagklmibllijll
NNTP-Posting-Date: Thu, 29 Jun 2006 07:48:53 MST
Date: Thu, 29 Jun 2006 10:45:20 -0400

I would try a 3rd party freeware program to monitor voltage levels, fan RPM, and
heat. However, I'm at a loss to name one. Intel provides one for its own
Intel-branded boards, but it does not work with Dell BIOSes. I've tried to
install it.

I doubt that the sensors were left off the Dell motherboards when manufactured.
It usually costs more to omit hardware from a standard design than to leave it
there. The Dell motherboards are based on straight-down-the-middle Intel
designs with some changes in layout.

As for overclocking, why do it? Overclocking simply involves running one or
more hardware elements (CPU and sometimes chipset or memory timings) out of
spec, not a good idea for reliable operation. Engineering specs are there to
be followed, not ignored. The gains in performance from overclocking are
nominal, except maybe for gamers... Ben Myers

On Thu, 29 Jun 2006 08:34:37 -0400, "J.S." nospam nospam_wanted.inet7.org
wrote:


"John Doe" jdoe usenetlove.invalid wrote in message
news:Xns97F09AB359E480123456789 207.115.17.102...
Can you tell me where there is a voltage level reading in the BIOS
of a Dell Dimension 5150?

Thank you.







Dell motherboards don't have the voltage level reading feature. Dell BIOS
are dumb downed and do not have all the features of a ASUS or Gigabyte,etc.
motherboard that you purchase off the shelf and build yourself. Same with
overclocking features, temperature features that come on my ASUS
motherboards, Dell decided to leave these types of features out of Dell
BIOS.

J.S.



 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HDD Compatibility Samik R Homebuilt PC's 11 February 3rd 06 11:40 AM
Award Boot Block BIOS rom checksum error Flip General 10 January 29th 06 06:30 AM
SP2 - need to update BIOS? Steve Dell Computers 25 September 5th 04 09:40 AM
A7V & Promise Ultra 100 & WD 200GB HDD problem -=Bones=- Asus Motherboards 5 July 25th 04 02:07 AM
Downgrading the BIOS of my p4p800-vm...possible? KILOWATT General 3 January 2nd 04 09:37 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2018 ComputerBanter.com.
The comments are property of their posters.