A Computer hardware and components forum. ComputerBanter.com

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » ComputerBanter.com forum » Motherboards » Asus Motherboards
Site Map Home Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

rtn66u - help



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 18th 16, 07:10 PM posted to alt.comp.periphs.mainboard.asus
Dan[_13_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 8
Default rtn66u - help

I have looked at the UK asus rtn66u website, it no longer shows any
fimware update url. But the USA one at
http://www.asus.com/Networking/RTN66U/#support_Download
and to http://www.asus.com/Networking/RTN66...Desk_Download/
allows for firmware update, which trhe latest is
FW_RT_N66U_30043803264.ZIP

above url say that I can download from global, only my connection
speed matters but the file will be the same. Can I use the above named
zip file to update my rtn66u?
  #2  
Old May 19th 16, 04:07 AM posted to alt.comp.periphs.mainboard.asus
Paul
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 13,411
Default rtn66u - help

Dan wrote:
I have looked at the UK asus rtn66u website, it no longer shows any
fimware update url. But the USA one at
http://www.asus.com/Networking/RTN66U/#support_Download
and to http://www.asus.com/Networking/RTN66...Desk_Download/
allows for firmware update, which trhe latest is
FW_RT_N66U_30043803264.ZIP

above url say that I can download from global, only my connection
speed matters but the file will be the same. Can I use the above named
zip file to update my rtn66u?


http://www.asus.com/Networking/RTN66...Desk_Download/

"Products certified by the Federal Communications Commission
and Industry Canada will be distributed in the United States
and Canada. Please visit the ASUS USA and ASUS Canada websites
for information about locally available products."

The firmware issued to you, should be by geolocation. The
web page should contain references to communications
bodies like OFCOM in the notes section (if the geolocation
figures out you are physically in the UK).

Channel allocation is slightly different around the world.
You have a channel 13 on your Wifi, and we don't here. The
license-free terms of usage are strictly defined by the
radio spectrum being used. If I brought your computer
here, and it was using channel 13, then I'd be in violation
of the DOC rules. Not that anyone would notice. I expect
accidental channel 13 usage happens all the time.

You could try looking inside the ZIP file, for any
README file that might say what countries it is for.

Paul
  #3  
Old May 19th 16, 07:16 AM posted to alt.comp.periphs.mainboard.asus
Dan[_13_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 8
Default rtn66u - help

On Wed, 18 May 2016 23:07:23 -0400, Paul wrote:

Dan wrote:
I have looked at the UK asus rtn66u website, it no longer shows any
fimware update url. But the USA one at
http://www.asus.com/Networking/RTN66U/#support_Download
and to http://www.asus.com/Networking/RTN66...Desk_Download/
allows for firmware update, which trhe latest is
FW_RT_N66U_30043803264.ZIP

above url say that I can download from global, only my connection
speed matters but the file will be the same. Can I use the above named
zip file to update my rtn66u?


http://www.asus.com/Networking/RTN66...Desk_Download/

"Products certified by the Federal Communications Commission
and Industry Canada will be distributed in the United States
and Canada. Please visit the ASUS USA and ASUS Canada websites
for information about locally available products."

The firmware issued to you, should be by geolocation. The
web page should contain references to communications
bodies like OFCOM in the notes section (if the geolocation
figures out you are physically in the UK).

Channel allocation is slightly different around the world.
You have a channel 13 on your Wifi, and we don't here. The
license-free terms of usage are strictly defined by the
radio spectrum being used. If I brought your computer
here, and it was using channel 13, then I'd be in violation
of the DOC rules. Not that anyone would notice. I expect
accidental channel 13 usage happens all the time.

You could try looking inside the ZIP file, for any
README file that might say what countries it is for.

Paul



Cheers Paul,

the zip file contains only the firmware
RT-N66U_3.0.0.4_380_3264-g79f6bde.trx and no readme. By your
description I cannot use the update for my UK rtn66u. So what can I do
then?
  #4  
Old May 19th 16, 08:16 AM posted to alt.comp.periphs.mainboard.asus
Paul
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 13,411
Default rtn66u - help

Dan wrote:

Cheers Paul,

the zip file contains only the firmware
RT-N66U_3.0.0.4_380_3264-g79f6bde.trx and no readme. By your
description I cannot use the update for my UK rtn66u. So what can I do
then?


http://www.asus.com/Networking/RTN66...Desk_Download/

Try setting the OS to "Others". In the picture
here, I'm seeing a few more firmwares.

http://s32.postimg.org/v1u5w9cqt/others.gif

I got the hint from this FAQ page (noticed while
I was wandering around in there). Since there are
so many FAQs, it takes persistence to find anything
really interesting.

http://www.asus.com/support/FAQ/1010600/

There is even source code (implying the software
base is FOSS and the GPL says the source must
be released if it is used).

But I still don't know how the country-specifics
are handled. The release notes don't seem to mention
it.

Paul
  #5  
Old May 19th 16, 06:16 PM posted to alt.comp.periphs.mainboard.asus
Dan[_13_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 8
Default rtn66u - help

On Thu, 19 May 2016 03:16:22 -0400, Paul wrote:

Dan wrote:

Cheers Paul,

the zip file contains only the firmware
RT-N66U_3.0.0.4_380_3264-g79f6bde.trx and no readme. By your
description I cannot use the update for my UK rtn66u. So what can I do
then?


http://www.asus.com/Networking/RTN66...Desk_Download/

Try setting the OS to "Others". In the picture
here, I'm seeing a few more firmwares.

http://s32.postimg.org/v1u5w9cqt/others.gif

I got the hint from this FAQ page (noticed while
I was wandering around in there). Since there are
so many FAQs, it takes persistence to find anything
really interesting.

http://www.asus.com/support/FAQ/1010600/

There is even source code (implying the software
base is FOSS and the GPL says the source must
be released if it is used).

But I still don't know how the country-specifics
are handled. The release notes don't seem to mention
it.

Paul



Hello Paul,, I took a look at 'others' at
http://www.asus.com/support/FAQ/1010600/


Driver & Tools

There are 3 download servers available on ASUS Download Site - Global,
China and P2P. Each server provides exact the same content no matter
where you download from, except for the speed which you are connected
to.


It shows Firmware (14)
Version 3.0.0.4.380.3264

ASUS RT-N66U Firmware version 3.0.0.4.380.3264
ASUS has been dedicated to cooperate with third party developers to
come up with more innovative features.
To comply with regulatory amendments, we have modified firmware
verification rule to ensure better firmware quality.
This version is not compatible with all previously released ASUS
firmware and uncertified third party firmware.


It does not mention country specific but
"Driver & Tools

There are 3 download servers available on ASUS Download Site - Global,
China and P2P. Each server provides exact the same content no matter
where you download from, except for the speed which you are connected
to." Does this mean that this firmware can be used for any part of
the world?
  #6  
Old May 20th 16, 07:20 AM posted to alt.comp.periphs.mainboard.asus
Paul
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 13,411
Default rtn66u - help

Dan wrote:
On Thu, 19 May 2016 03:16:22 -0400, Paul wrote:

Dan wrote:

Cheers Paul,

the zip file contains only the firmware
RT-N66U_3.0.0.4_380_3264-g79f6bde.trx and no readme. By your
description I cannot use the update for my UK rtn66u. So what can I do
then?

http://www.asus.com/Networking/RTN66...Desk_Download/

Try setting the OS to "Others". In the picture
here, I'm seeing a few more firmwares.

http://s32.postimg.org/v1u5w9cqt/others.gif

I got the hint from this FAQ page (noticed while
I was wandering around in there). Since there are
so many FAQs, it takes persistence to find anything
really interesting.

http://www.asus.com/support/FAQ/1010600/

There is even source code (implying the software
base is FOSS and the GPL says the source must
be released if it is used).

But I still don't know how the country-specifics
are handled. The release notes don't seem to mention
it.

Paul



Hello Paul,, I took a look at 'others' at
http://www.asus.com/support/FAQ/1010600/


Driver & Tools

There are 3 download servers available on ASUS Download Site - Global,
China and P2P. Each server provides exact the same content no matter
where you download from, except for the speed which you are connected
to.


It shows Firmware (14)
Version 3.0.0.4.380.3264

ASUS RT-N66U Firmware version 3.0.0.4.380.3264
ASUS has been dedicated to cooperate with third party developers to
come up with more innovative features.
To comply with regulatory amendments, we have modified firmware
verification rule to ensure better firmware quality.
This version is not compatible with all previously released ASUS
firmware and uncertified third party firmware.


It does not mention country specific but
"Driver & Tools

There are 3 download servers available on ASUS Download Site - Global,
China and P2P. Each server provides exact the same content no matter
where you download from, except for the speed which you are connected
to." Does this mean that this firmware can be used for any part of
the world?


I expect we're getting the same download version. You can
compare the details on the copy you get.

http://dlcdnet.asus.com/pub/ASUS/wir...732.1463641536

Version 3.0.0.4.380.3264

30,590,052 bytes

f68d0653374c013a7b5216f0ce26e47f *FW_RT_N66U_30043803264.ZIP --- MD5SUM

And this statement:

"To comply with regulatory amendments, we have modified firmware
verification rule to ensure..."

To ensure something. My guess would be, the router has some mechanism
to know it should turn off Channel 13 in North America. But such statements
don't explain how the router knows what to do.

*******

There are third party firmwares for routers. And
some of those expose the mechanism the router uses
for "remembering details about itself". Reading sites
like this, can teach you more about how the innards
of the router work. I'm not recommending you switch
to stuff like this, on a whim. Some risk is involved.

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Asus_TFTP_Flash

I found a page for your device here. Maybe this will
help fill in some knowledge gaps, as to whether
using a current Asus firmware is useful or
restrictive or whatever. The "K2" or "K3" references
could be Linux kernel versions, with the software
built on that (stripped down) Linux kernel.

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Asus_RT-N66U

http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtop...sc&st art=450

And here's a definition of CFE. I still don't
understand it, but here it is.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Common...re_Environment

*******

One of the reasons a user might use a firmware like
that, is for the size of the connection table. Some
routers in the past, didn't dump zombie connections
fast enough. And if you use BitTorrent all night long,
it eats up thousands of entries in the connection table.
Eventually resulting in the router needing to be
rebooted. So for a Torrent user, there are "good" routers
and "bad" routers, the bad ones having insufficient
connection table size, or generally not being able
to tolerate the usage pattern of Torrent all that
well (everything stops at some point). It's possible
your Asus doesn't need any help at all in this matter.
But, connection table size might be an incentive to
change things.

So when you use the latest Asus firmware, I think it's
going to "police" the channel allocation all by itself,
to be compliant with the FCC/DOC/OFCOM rules, whatever
they are. Maybe some NVRAM loaded at the factory, declares
your unit was sold in the UK or Europe.

Paul
  #7  
Old May 20th 16, 06:30 PM posted to alt.comp.periphs.mainboard.asus
Dan[_13_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 8
Default rtn66u - help

On Fri, 20 May 2016 02:20:44 -0400, Paul wrote:

Dan wrote:
On Thu, 19 May 2016 03:16:22 -0400, Paul wrote:

Dan wrote:

Cheers Paul,

the zip file contains only the firmware
RT-N66U_3.0.0.4_380_3264-g79f6bde.trx and no readme. By your
description I cannot use the update for my UK rtn66u. So what can I do
then?
http://www.asus.com/Networking/RTN66...Desk_Download/

Try setting the OS to "Others". In the picture
here, I'm seeing a few more firmwares.

http://s32.postimg.org/v1u5w9cqt/others.gif

I got the hint from this FAQ page (noticed while
I was wandering around in there). Since there are
so many FAQs, it takes persistence to find anything
really interesting.

http://www.asus.com/support/FAQ/1010600/

There is even source code (implying the software
base is FOSS and the GPL says the source must
be released if it is used).

But I still don't know how the country-specifics
are handled. The release notes don't seem to mention
it.

Paul



Hello Paul,, I took a look at 'others' at
http://www.asus.com/support/FAQ/1010600/


Driver & Tools

There are 3 download servers available on ASUS Download Site - Global,
China and P2P. Each server provides exact the same content no matter
where you download from, except for the speed which you are connected
to.


It shows Firmware (14)
Version 3.0.0.4.380.3264

ASUS RT-N66U Firmware version 3.0.0.4.380.3264
ASUS has been dedicated to cooperate with third party developers to
come up with more innovative features.
To comply with regulatory amendments, we have modified firmware
verification rule to ensure better firmware quality.
This version is not compatible with all previously released ASUS
firmware and uncertified third party firmware.


It does not mention country specific but
"Driver & Tools

There are 3 download servers available on ASUS Download Site - Global,
China and P2P. Each server provides exact the same content no matter
where you download from, except for the speed which you are connected
to." Does this mean that this firmware can be used for any part of
the world?


I expect we're getting the same download version. You can
compare the details on the copy you get.

http://dlcdnet.asus.com/pub/ASUS/wir...732.1463641536

Version 3.0.0.4.380.3264

30,590,052 bytes

f68d0653374c013a7b5216f0ce26e47f *FW_RT_N66U_30043803264.ZIP --- MD5SUM

And this statement:

"To comply with regulatory amendments, we have modified firmware
verification rule to ensure..."

To ensure something. My guess would be, the router has some mechanism
to know it should turn off Channel 13 in North America. But such statements
don't explain how the router knows what to do.

*******

There are third party firmwares for routers. And
some of those expose the mechanism the router uses
for "remembering details about itself". Reading sites
like this, can teach you more about how the innards
of the router work. I'm not recommending you switch
to stuff like this, on a whim. Some risk is involved.

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Asus_TFTP_Flash

I found a page for your device here. Maybe this will
help fill in some knowledge gaps, as to whether
using a current Asus firmware is useful or
restrictive or whatever. The "K2" or "K3" references
could be Linux kernel versions, with the software
built on that (stripped down) Linux kernel.

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Asus_RT-N66U

http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtop...sc&st art=450

And here's a definition of CFE. I still don't
understand it, but here it is.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Common...re_Environment

*******

One of the reasons a user might use a firmware like
that, is for the size of the connection table. Some
routers in the past, didn't dump zombie connections
fast enough. And if you use BitTorrent all night long,
it eats up thousands of entries in the connection table.
Eventually resulting in the router needing to be
rebooted. So for a Torrent user, there are "good" routers
and "bad" routers, the bad ones having insufficient
connection table size, or generally not being able
to tolerate the usage pattern of Torrent all that
well (everything stops at some point). It's possible
your Asus doesn't need any help at all in this matter.
But, connection table size might be an incentive to
change things.

So when you use the latest Asus firmware, I think it's
going to "police" the channel allocation all by itself,
to be compliant with the FCC/DOC/OFCOM rules, whatever
they are. Maybe some NVRAM loaded at the factory, declares
your unit was sold in the UK or Europe.

Paul



Thanks a lot Paul. I will look at your extensive post & try to e mail
Asus. Last time I left a message on their contact me website it took
about 3 months to get back to me. They make great hardware but their
customer service is exceptionally poor.
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Asus RTN66u firmware Dan[_13_] Asus Motherboards 6 September 1st 15 06:16 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2018 ComputerBanter.com.
The comments are property of their posters.