A Computer hardware and components forum. ComputerBanter.com

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » ComputerBanter.com forum » System Manufacturers & Vendors » Dell Computers
Site Map Home Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

computer fried--query about restoring on new used computer



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old July 4th 17, 02:16 PM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.dell
MZB
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 602
Default computer fried--query about restoring on new used computer

I bought an HP Probook 6570b laptop, used, years ago. Loved it. We had a
coffee spill and it fried my computer.
Ok, just ordered a used computer – same exact model – from Amazon (it’s
also used).

Sadly, I had a lot of stuff on the fried computer.

Now, I do regular image backups using Macrium Reflect Free.

My question: can I install Macrium Reflect Free on the computer I just
bought and restore my latest image from the fried computer and be
totally okay?

As an alternative, can I just put the HD from the old computer into the
new computer. Would everything be the same?

Mel
  #2  
Old July 4th 17, 06:07 PM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.dell
Ron Hardin
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 973
Default computer fried--query about restoring on new used computer

Try transplanting the HD. I just did one with a Dell Vostro 1400 and it worked okay.

There may be drivers you have to install for devices that aren't the same make, like wifi
radio chips, after it comes up.
--


On the internet, nobody knows you're a jerk.
  #3  
Old July 4th 17, 11:23 PM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.dell
Ben Myers[_4_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 453
Default computer fried--query about restoring on new used computer

Yes, Mel, put the hard drive from the fried computer into an identical replacement and the replacement should boot right up. There is an outside chance that the hardware is different despite the identical model. In this case, installing drivers fixes whatever problem there might be. You may also have to re-activate Windows as well as paid-and-licensed software like Office, Adobe Creative Suite or AutoCad.

I am assuming, of course, that the hard drive is not damaged and it is free of errors like reallocated sector... Ben Myers

On Tuesday, July 4, 2017 at 9:16:14 AM UTC-4, MZB wrote:
I bought an HP Probook 6570b laptop, used, years ago. Loved it. We had a
coffee spill and it fried my computer.
Ok, just ordered a used computer – same exact model – from Amazon (it’s
also used).

Sadly, I had a lot of stuff on the fried computer.

Now, I do regular image backups using Macrium Reflect Free.

My question: can I install Macrium Reflect Free on the computer I just
bought and restore my latest image from the fried computer and be
totally okay?

As an alternative, can I just put the HD from the old computer into the
new computer. Would everything be the same?

Mel




On Tuesday, July 4, 2017 at 9:16:14 AM UTC-4, MZB wrote:
I bought an HP Probook 6570b laptop, used, years ago. Loved it. We had a
coffee spill and it fried my computer.
Ok, just ordered a used computer – same exact model – from Amazon (it’s
also used).

Sadly, I had a lot of stuff on the fried computer.

Now, I do regular image backups using Macrium Reflect Free.

My question: can I install Macrium Reflect Free on the computer I just
bought and restore my latest image from the fried computer and be
totally okay?

As an alternative, can I just put the HD from the old computer into the
new computer. Would everything be the same?

Mel


  #4  
Old July 5th 17, 01:16 AM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.dell
MZB
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 602
Default computer fried--query about restoring on new used computer

On 7/4/2017 6:23 PM, Ben Myers wrote:
Yes, Mel, put the hard drive from the fried computer into an identical replacement and the replacement should boot right up. There is an outside chance that the hardware is different despite the identical model. In this case, installing drivers fixes whatever problem there might be. You may also have to re-activate Windows as well as paid-and-licensed software like Office, Adobe Creative Suite or AutoCad.

I am assuming, of course, that the hard drive is not damaged and it is free of errors like reallocated sector... Ben Myers

On Tuesday, July 4, 2017 at 9:16:14 AM UTC-4, MZB wrote:
I bought an HP Probook 6570b laptop, used, years ago. Loved it. We had a
coffee spill and it fried my computer.
Ok, just ordered a used computer – same exact model – from Amazon (it’s
also used).

Sadly, I had a lot of stuff on the fried computer.

Now, I do regular image backups using Macrium Reflect Free.

My question: can I install Macrium Reflect Free on the computer I just
bought and restore my latest image from the fried computer and be
totally okay?

As an alternative, can I just put the HD from the old computer into the
new computer. Would everything be the same?

Mel




On Tuesday, July 4, 2017 at 9:16:14 AM UTC-4, MZB wrote:
I bought an HP Probook 6570b laptop, used, years ago. Loved it. We had a
coffee spill and it fried my computer.
Ok, just ordered a used computer – same exact model – from Amazon (it’s
also used).

Sadly, I had a lot of stuff on the fried computer.

Now, I do regular image backups using Macrium Reflect Free.

My question: can I install Macrium Reflect Free on the computer I just
bought and restore my latest image from the fried computer and be
totally okay?

As an alternative, can I just put the HD from the old computer into the
new computer. Would everything be the same?

Mel


Ben:

How would I reactivate Windows (it is W7). Do I just call and explain
the situation?

Mel




  #5  
Old July 5th 17, 01:12 PM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.dell
Ron Hardin
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 973
Default computer fried--query about restoring on new used computer

How would I reactivate Windows (it is W7). Do I just call and explain
the situation?


On Dell computers it assumes the operating system is valid. HP may be the same.

In any case you paid for the OS and so it's valid legally, so long as you're not
running it on two computers.
--


On the internet, nobody knows you're a jerk.
  #6  
Old July 5th 17, 10:44 PM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.dell
Ben Myers[_4_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 453
Default computer fried--query about restoring on new used computer

If the replacement system has a Windows 7 sticker on it, reactivate with the product key on it.

On Tuesday, July 4, 2017 at 8:16:09 PM UTC-4, MZB wrote:
On 7/4/2017 6:23 PM, Ben Myers wrote:
Yes, Mel, put the hard drive from the fried computer into an identical replacement and the replacement should boot right up. There is an outside chance that the hardware is different despite the identical model. In this case, installing drivers fixes whatever problem there might be. You may also have to re-activate Windows as well as paid-and-licensed software like Office, Adobe Creative Suite or AutoCad.

I am assuming, of course, that the hard drive is not damaged and it is free of errors like reallocated sector... Ben Myers

On Tuesday, July 4, 2017 at 9:16:14 AM UTC-4, MZB wrote:
I bought an HP Probook 6570b laptop, used, years ago. Loved it. We had a
coffee spill and it fried my computer.
Ok, just ordered a used computer – same exact model – from Amazon (it’s
also used).

Sadly, I had a lot of stuff on the fried computer.

Now, I do regular image backups using Macrium Reflect Free.

My question: can I install Macrium Reflect Free on the computer I just
bought and restore my latest image from the fried computer and be
totally okay?

As an alternative, can I just put the HD from the old computer into the
new computer. Would everything be the same?

Mel




On Tuesday, July 4, 2017 at 9:16:14 AM UTC-4, MZB wrote:
I bought an HP Probook 6570b laptop, used, years ago. Loved it. We had a
coffee spill and it fried my computer.
Ok, just ordered a used computer – same exact model – from Amazon (it’s
also used).

Sadly, I had a lot of stuff on the fried computer.

Now, I do regular image backups using Macrium Reflect Free.

My question: can I install Macrium Reflect Free on the computer I just
bought and restore my latest image from the fried computer and be
totally okay?

As an alternative, can I just put the HD from the old computer into the
new computer. Would everything be the same?

Mel


Ben:

How would I reactivate Windows (it is W7). Do I just call and explain
the situation?

Mel


  #7  
Old July 7th 17, 03:56 AM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.dell
Shadow[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 91
Default computer fried--query about restoring on new used computer

On Tue, 4 Jul 2017 09:16:10 -0400, MZB wrote:

I bought an HP Probook 6570b laptop, used, years ago. Loved it. We had a
coffee spill and it fried my computer.
Ok, just ordered a used computer same exact model from Amazon (its
also used).

Sadly, I had a lot of stuff on the fried computer.

Now, I do regular image backups using Macrium Reflect Free.

My question: can I install Macrium Reflect Free on the computer I just
bought and restore my latest image from the fried computer and be
totally okay?


Probably

As an alternative, can I just put the HD from the old computer into the
new computer. Would everything be the same?


Yes, assuming the hardware is the same. Probably your best
bet, as the licenses might be tied to the HD serial number and I think
HP uses a "generic" OEM license.
Try it and tell us.
[]'s
--
Don't be evil - Google 2004
We have a new policy - Google 2012
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power supply fried, replaced it, computer won't start . Homebuilt PC's 66 September 11th 06 06:34 AM
safe to use hard drive from fried computer? ccx42 Storage (alt) 3 January 25th 05 11:09 PM
MY COMPUTER DOESNT START AT ALL - SEEMS FRIED theborland Homebuilt PC's 3 November 14th 04 07:27 PM
Cloning one computer HD and restoring to another computer Jim Walker Storage (alt) 1 March 30th 04 08:39 PM
Cloning one computer and restoring to another Jim Walker Storage (alt) 0 March 30th 04 05:34 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2017 ComputerBanter.com.
The comments are property of their posters.