A Computer hardware and components forum. ComputerBanter.com

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » ComputerBanter.com forum » System Manufacturers & Vendors » Dell Computers
Site Map Home Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

GAK! Vostro 1400 cooling fan



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old June 27th 17, 09:39 PM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.dell
Ron Hardin
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 991
Default GAK! Vostro 1400 cooling fan

It turns out that you have to disassemble the
entire laptop to get at the cooling fan.

Step 25 remove cooling fan.

The odds of the machine working after that are
zero.
--


On the internet, nobody knows you're a jerk.
  #2  
Old June 27th 17, 10:01 PM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.dell
Ron Hardin
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 991
Default GAK! Vostro 1400 cooling fan

Ron Hardin wrote:

It turns out that you have to disassemble the
entire laptop to get at the cooling fan.

Step 25 remove cooling fan.

The odds of the machine working after that are
zero.
--


On the internet, nobody knows you're a jerk.


What happens if I just swap the HD into another Vostro 1400?

Will the new 1400 act as if it's the old one? Or is some BIOS
setting going to screw up that plan.
--


On the internet, nobody knows you're a jerk.
  #3  
Old June 28th 17, 07:07 PM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.dell
Bob_Villa
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 249
Default GAK! Vostro 1400 cooling fan

On Tuesday, June 27, 2017 at 4:01:29 PM UTC-5, Ron Hardin wrote:
Ron Hardin wrote:

It turns out that you have to disassemble the
entire laptop to get at the cooling fan.

Step 25 remove cooling fan.

The odds of the machine working after that are
zero.
--


On the internet, nobody knows you're a jerk.


What happens if I just swap the HD into another Vostro 1400?

Will the new 1400 act as if it's the old one? Or is some BIOS
setting going to screw up that plan.
--


On the internet, nobody knows you're a jerk.


That idea might even work with a "related" model. But, you're right...it's always a crap shoot!
  #4  
Old June 28th 17, 10:55 PM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.dell
Ben Myers[_4_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 468
Default GAK! Vostro 1400 cooling fan

Ron,

Three comments.

1. Dell has gone to the dark side with the maintainability of its laptops. Downright horrific. Near complete disassembly to replace a hard drive is another one of my Dell peeves. Honestly, maintenance and repair of most modern Dell laptops really sucks.

2. If you swap the hard drive from the Vostro 1400 into another one, you may well need to reactivate any software that requires activation. If the Vostro 1400s have the same version of Windows sticker, that would be no problem unless you upgraded to Windows 7 or later. If the OS has a generic Dell Windows product key, activation may not even be necessary. And, of course, products like PhotoShop, Acrobat Pro etc would probably also need reactivation.

3, The Vostro 1400 uses an Intel 965 chipset, so the OS would boot and run on any system with the same chipset, e.g. Latitude D830, Latitude D630 and others. And, of course, there would still be the problem of activating Windows and other software... Ben Myers


On Tuesday, June 27, 2017 at 4:39:11 PM UTC-4, Ron Hardin wrote:
It turns out that you have to disassemble the
entire laptop to get at the cooling fan.

Step 25 remove cooling fan.

The odds of the machine working after that are
zero.
--


On the internet, nobody knows you're a jerk.


  #5  
Old June 29th 17, 03:38 AM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.dell
Ron Hardin
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 991
Default GAK! Vostro 1400 cooling fan

Ben Myers wrote:

Ron,

Three comments.

1. Dell has gone to the dark side with the maintainability of its laptops. Downright horrific. Near complete disassembly to replace a hard drive is

another on

2. If you swap the hard drive from the Vostro 1400 into another one, you may well need to reactivate any software that requires activation. If the

Vostro 1400s

3, The Vostro 1400 uses an Intel 965 chipset, so the OS would boot and run on any system with the same chipset, e.g. Latitude D830, Latitude D630 and

others.

On Tuesday, June 27, 2017 at 4:39:11 PM UTC-4, Ron Hardin wrote:
It turns out that you have to disassemble the
entire laptop to get at the cooling fan.

Step 25 remove cooling fan.

The odds of the machine working after that are
zero.
--


On the internet, nobody knows you're a jerk.


I can see different chipset or devices would be a problem, but isn't all
that other stuff on the HD? In which case it ought to move with the HD.

Registry and all.

The V1400 still works just at a very low CPU speed, which it throttles to on
temperature. I have one CPU core turned off to help.
--


On the internet, nobody knows you're a jerk.
  #6  
Old June 29th 17, 03:41 AM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.dell
Ron Hardin
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 991
Default GAK! Vostro 1400 cooling fan

They are both XP systems, both came with XP Home
and the failed one is now XP Pro; but both have
replacement HDs by now, those having failed long
ago.
--


On the internet, nobody knows you're a jerk.
  #7  
Old June 29th 17, 03:45 AM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.dell
Ron Hardin
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 991
Default GAK! Vostro 1400 cooling fan

Yeah, you have to tear down a vostro 1520b to get
at the coin cell, which is how I know the odds of
getting a torn-down machine to work again are
zero. Also you have screws left over.
--


On the internet, nobody knows you're a jerk.
  #8  
Old July 2nd 17, 01:10 AM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.dell
Ron Hardin
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 991
Default GAK! Vostro 1400 cooling fan

Ron Hardin wrote:

It turns out that you have to disassemble the
entire laptop to get at the cooling fan.

Step 25 remove cooling fan.

The odds of the machine working after that are
zero.


I backed up the HD just in case, and the HD swap
seems to have worked. The alternate machine came
up thinking it's the old machine, except for one
found new hardware (something about a network
controller) which it didn't find on the driver
disc from Dell anyway. But the machine seems to
work.

Albeit a bit slower because it's a 1.4GHz
processor instead of a 1.8GHz processor.
--


On the internet, nobody knows you're a jerk.
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vostro 1400 battery overcharging? Ron Hardin Dell Computers 5 November 13th 16 01:19 AM
Vostro 1400 advice please - Celeron? georgie Dell Computers 7 June 5th 08 01:33 AM
Vostro 1400 now with XP Ron Hardin Dell Computers 12 December 7th 07 07:05 PM
Vostro 1400 notebook.... S.Lewis Dell Computers 6 October 1st 07 03:48 PM
Vostro 1400 xD cards Ian McMillan Dell Computers 0 August 19th 07 10:25 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2018 ComputerBanter.com.
The comments are property of their posters.