A Computer hardware and components forum. ComputerBanter.com

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » ComputerBanter.com forum » General Hardware & Peripherals » Homebuilt PC's
Site Map Home Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

PC wont turn on after adding new cpu



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 21st 07, 04:20 AM posted to alt.comp.hardware.pc-homebuilt
dave xnet
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 26
Default PC wont turn on after adding new cpu

Hello, I've seen many variations of this problem,
but none quite the same.

I upgraded from an AMD64 3200+ (singe core) to a
AMD64 4200 x2 (dual core) .

When I shutdown windows and later on try to start the pc,
the only thing that happens is the power LED lights up.
No fan, HD or other activity.
Power supply is an Antec Truepower 430W.

I'm using no add on cards, motherboard
audio,video and nic (Biostar geforce 6100 M9)
2 HD, 2 optical drives.

But if I switch off at the power supply, wait 10 seconds,
turn on again - it will now start normally from the front
switch as if nothing had happened.

What do you infer from this behavior?
Thanks,
Dave

  #2  
Old May 21st 07, 04:59 AM posted to alt.comp.hardware.pc-homebuilt
Frank McCoy
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 711
Default PC wont turn on after adding new cpu

In alt.comp.hardware.pc-homebuilt dave xnet
wrote:

Hello, I've seen many variations of this problem,
but none quite the same.

I upgraded from an AMD64 3200+ (singe core) to a
AMD64 4200 x2 (dual core) .

When I shutdown windows and later on try to start the pc,
the only thing that happens is the power LED lights up.
No fan, HD or other activity.
Power supply is an Antec Truepower 430W.

I'm using no add on cards, motherboard
audio,video and nic (Biostar geforce 6100 M9)
2 HD, 2 optical drives.

But if I switch off at the power supply, wait 10 seconds,
turn on again - it will now start normally from the front
switch as if nothing had happened.

What do you infer from this behavior?
Thanks,
Dave


I'd try a different power-supply myself.
Having a spare known-good PSU is *always* a good idea anyway.

--
_____
/ ' / ™
,-/-, __ __. ____ /_
(_/ / (_(_/|_/ / _/ _
  #3  
Old May 21st 07, 06:13 AM posted to alt.comp.hardware.pc-homebuilt
dave xnet
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 26
Default PC wont turn on after adding new cpu

On Sun, 20 May 2007 22:59:43 -0500, Frank McCoy
wrote:

In alt.comp.hardware.pc-homebuilt dave xnet
wrote:

Hello, I've seen many variations of this problem,
but none quite the same.

I upgraded from an AMD64 3200+ (singe core) to a
AMD64 4200 x2 (dual core) .

When I shutdown windows and later on try to start the pc,
the only thing that happens is the power LED lights up.
No fan, HD or other activity.
Power supply is an Antec Truepower 430W.

I'm using no add on cards, motherboard
audio,video and nic (Biostar geforce 6100 M9)
2 HD, 2 optical drives.

But if I switch off at the power supply, wait 10 seconds,
turn on again - it will now start normally from the front
switch as if nothing had happened.

What do you infer from this behavior?
Thanks,
Dave




I'd try a different power-supply myself.
Having a spare known-good PSU is *always* a good idea anyway.

Well this was a "known-good" PS until I put in this cpu about
3 weeks ago! Only 9 months old, possibly some warranty left,
(I'll have to check Antec's site)

In the meantime I have also sent an email to Antec tech support
and described the problem there - let's see what the response is.

The OEM cpu comes with a 30 day warranty of which there are about
5 days left. I may call that vendor to see if they have any idea.
I don't want to be in a situation where the PS is good and the cpu has
a problem, because the cpu 30 warranty period clock is ticking...

Thanks,
Dave H.

  #4  
Old May 21st 07, 06:33 AM posted to alt.comp.hardware.pc-homebuilt
w_tom
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 584
Default PC wont turn on after adding new cpu

Could be any part of the power supply system, or could be .... well
this is why numbers from a 3.5 digit multimeter are necessary to
obtain useful replies. Two minutes would answer your questions
immediately. Without those numbers, every suggestion will only be
speculation.

Two minute procedure was posted as "When your computer dies without
warning....." starting 6 Feb 2007 in the newsgroup alt.windows-xp
at:
http://tinyurl.com/yvf9vh

In your case, most important are voltages on purple, green, and gray
wires before and when power switch is pressed; and immediately after
computer powers off in a 'no yet restartable' state.

What does that behavior imply? A power supply controller problem
which is another component of a power supply 'system'. Your responses
will only be as useful as information posted. Two minutes with a tool
that is sold even in K-mart.

On May 20, 11:20 pm, dave xnet wrote:
Hello, I've seen many variations of this problem,
but none quite the same.

I upgraded from an AMD64 3200+ (singe core) to a
AMD64 4200 x2 (dual core) .

When I shutdown windows and later on try to start the pc,
the only thing that happens is the power LED lights up.
No fan, HD or other activity.Power supplyis an Antec Truepower 430W.

I'm using no add on cards, motherboard
audio,video and nic (Biostar geforce 6100 M9)
2 HD, 2 optical drives.

But if I switch off at thepower supply, wait 10 seconds,
turn on again - it will now start normally from the front
switch as if nothing had happened.

What do you infer from this behavior?


  #5  
Old May 21st 07, 01:22 PM posted to alt.comp.hardware.pc-homebuilt
Cuzman
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 9
Default PC wont turn on after adding new cpu

dave xnet wrote:

" What do you infer from this behavior? "


Might seem like a PSU problem, but have you tried updating the BIOS to
the latest one?

http://www.biostar.com.tw/support/bi...206100-M9&key=
  #6  
Old May 21st 07, 04:21 PM posted to alt.comp.hardware.pc-homebuilt
Frank McCoy
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 711
Default PC wont turn on after adding new cpu

In alt.comp.hardware.pc-homebuilt dave xnet
wrote:

On Sun, 20 May 2007 22:59:43 -0500, Frank McCoy
wrote:

In alt.comp.hardware.pc-homebuilt dave xnet
wrote:

Hello, I've seen many variations of this problem,
but none quite the same.

I upgraded from an AMD64 3200+ (singe core) to a
AMD64 4200 x2 (dual core) .

When I shutdown windows and later on try to start the pc,
the only thing that happens is the power LED lights up.
No fan, HD or other activity.
Power supply is an Antec Truepower 430W.

I'm using no add on cards, motherboard
audio,video and nic (Biostar geforce 6100 M9)
2 HD, 2 optical drives.

But if I switch off at the power supply, wait 10 seconds,
turn on again - it will now start normally from the front
switch as if nothing had happened.

What do you infer from this behavior?
Thanks,
Dave




I'd try a different power-supply myself.
Having a spare known-good PSU is *always* a good idea anyway.

Well this was a "known-good" PS until I put in this cpu about
3 weeks ago! Only 9 months old, possibly some warranty left,
(I'll have to check Antec's site)

The new CPU might have put extra stress on the PSU; causing it to fail.
And yes, I've seen power-supplies fail in far less time than that.

Like I said, I'd BUY a new power-supply; then, if the old one *is* bad,
I'd return it under warranty (though most warranties are only 90 days.)

If bad and warranted, then you'd have a good spare (which I recommend
anyway). If good, then you'd have a spare.

If bad and *not* warranted, I'd still recommend buying an extra one.
There's nothing as completely annoying as having a commonly fragile yet
comparatively inexpensive part (Like a power-supply) go bad when you
need it most and can't get to a store to replace the thing.

In the meantime I have also sent an email to Antec tech support
and described the problem there - let's see what the response is.

The OEM cpu comes with a 30 day warranty of which there are about
5 days left. I may call that vendor to see if they have any idea.
I don't want to be in a situation where the PS is good and the cpu has
a problem, because the cpu 30 warranty period clock is ticking...

I doubt VERY much if it's the CPU.
The motherboard itself would be far more likely; and I don't suspect
that either. Too many other suspects.

Video-board, Disks, memory ....
So *many* things that can make a PSU shut down in the manner you
describe.

But the power-supply is by *far* the most likely suspect; especially
after having installed a CPU that puts a much bigger load on it.

MY guess is that the PSU isn't exactly BAD, per-se; just a bit
underpowered for your new CPU.

--
_____
/ ' / ™
,-/-, __ __. ____ /_
(_/ / (_(_/|_/ / _/ _
  #7  
Old May 21st 07, 04:35 PM posted to alt.comp.hardware.pc-homebuilt
dave xnet
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 26
Default PC wont turn on after adding new cpu

On Mon, 21 May 2007 13:22:06 +0100, Cuzman wrote:

dave xnet wrote:

" What do you infer from this behavior? "


Might seem like a PSU problem, but have you tried updating the BIOS to
the latest one?

http://www.biostar.com.tw/support/bi...206100-M9&key=

Yes already have the 222 BIOS thanks anyway.

Dave
  #8  
Old May 21st 07, 04:51 PM posted to alt.comp.hardware.pc-homebuilt
dave xnet
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 26
Default PC wont turn on after adding new cpu

On 20 May 2007 22:33:50 -0700, w_tom wrote:

Could be any part of the power supply system, or could be .... well
this is why numbers from a 3.5 digit multimeter are necessary to
obtain useful replies. Two minutes would answer your questions
immediately. Without those numbers, every suggestion will only be
speculation.

Two minute procedure was posted as "When your computer dies without
warning....." starting 6 Feb 2007 in the newsgroup alt.windows-xp
at:
http://tinyurl.com/yvf9vh

In your case, most important are voltages on purple, green, and gray
wires before and when power switch is pressed; and immediately after
computer powers off in a 'no yet restartable' state.

What does that behavior imply? A power supply controller problem
which is another component of a power supply 'system'. Your responses
will only be as useful as information posted. Two minutes with a tool
that is sold even in K-mart.


I took a look at the kmart website, since I 'm not familiar with
digital volt meters. Do you meen the Craftsman Digital Multimeter
with AC Voltage Detector for $24.99.
Kmart item# 9990000031937611 Mfr. model# 31937611

I'll pick one up today and post back in here.

On May 20, 11:20 pm, dave xnet wrote:
Hello, I've seen many variations of this problem,
but none quite the same.

I upgraded from an AMD64 3200+ (singe core) to a
AMD64 4200 x2 (dual core) .

When I shutdown windows and later on try to start the pc,
the only thing that happens is the power LED lights up.
No fan, HD or other activity.Power supplyis an Antec Truepower 430W.

I'm using no add on cards, motherboard
audio,video and nic (Biostar geforce 6100 M9)
2 HD, 2 optical drives.

But if I switch off at thepower supply, wait 10 seconds,
turn on again - it will now start normally from the front
switch as if nothing had happened.

What do you infer from this behavior?

  #9  
Old May 21st 07, 04:53 PM posted to alt.comp.hardware.pc-homebuilt
dave xnet
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 26
Default PC wont turn on after adding new cpu

On Mon, 21 May 2007 10:21:33 -0500, Frank McCoy
wrote:

snip
But if I switch off at the power supply, wait 10 seconds,
turn on again - it will now start normally from the front
switch as if nothing had happened.

What do you infer from this behavior?
Thanks,
Dave




I'd try a different power-supply myself.
Having a spare known-good PSU is *always* a good idea anyway.

Well this was a "known-good" PS until I put in this cpu about
3 weeks ago! Only 9 months old, possibly some warranty left,
(I'll have to check Antec's site)

The new CPU might have put extra stress on the PSU; causing it to fail.
And yes, I've seen power-supplies fail in far less time than that.

Like I said, I'd BUY a new power-supply; then, if the old one *is* bad,
I'd return it under warranty (though most warranties are only 90 days.)

If bad and warranted, then you'd have a good spare (which I recommend
anyway). If good, then you'd have a spare.

If bad and *not* warranted, I'd still recommend buying an extra one.
There's nothing as completely annoying as having a commonly fragile yet
comparatively inexpensive part (Like a power-supply) go bad when you
need it most and can't get to a store to replace the thing.

In the meantime I have also sent an email to Antec tech support
and described the problem there - let's see what the response is.

The OEM cpu comes with a 30 day warranty of which there are about
5 days left. I may call that vendor to see if they have any idea.
I don't want to be in a situation where the PS is good and the cpu has
a problem, because the cpu 30 warranty period clock is ticking...

I doubt VERY much if it's the CPU.
The motherboard itself would be far more likely; and I don't suspect
that either. Too many other suspects.

Video-board, Disks, memory ....
So *many* things that can make a PSU shut down in the manner you
describe.

But the power-supply is by *far* the most likely suspect; especially
after having installed a CPU that puts a much bigger load on it.

MY guess is that the PSU isn't exactly BAD, per-se; just a bit
underpowered for your new CPU.

This is the thing - does the new cpu put a bigger load?
According to AMD's info they both consume 89W.

Is there someother "load"

Dave
  #10  
Old May 21st 07, 06:35 PM posted to alt.comp.hardware.pc-homebuilt
Bob M
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 113
Default PC wont turn on after adding new cpu

dave xnet wrote:

On Sun, 20 May 2007 22:59:43 -0500, Frank McCoy
wrote:


In alt.comp.hardware.pc-homebuilt dave xnet
wrote:


Hello, I've seen many variations of this problem,
but none quite the same.

I upgraded from an AMD64 3200+ (singe core) to a
AMD64 4200 x2 (dual core) .

When I shutdown windows and later on try to start the pc,
the only thing that happens is the power LED lights up.
No fan, HD or other activity.
Power supply is an Antec Truepower 430W.

I'm using no add on cards, motherboard
audio,video and nic (Biostar geforce 6100 M9)
2 HD, 2 optical drives.

But if I switch off at the power supply, wait 10 seconds,
turn on again - it will now start normally from the front
switch as if nothing had happened.

What do you infer from this behavior?
Thanks,
Dave




I'd try a different power-supply myself.
Having a spare known-good PSU is *always* a good idea anyway.


Well this was a "known-good" PS until I put in this cpu about
3 weeks ago! Only 9 months old, possibly some warranty left,
(I'll have to check Antec's site)

In the meantime I have also sent an email to Antec tech support
and described the problem there - let's see what the response is.

The OEM cpu comes with a 30 day warranty of which there are about
5 days left. I may call that vendor to see if they have any idea.
I don't want to be in a situation where the PS is good and the cpu has
a problem, because the cpu 30 warranty period clock is ticking...

Thanks,
Dave H.


Is the motherboard an Asrock by any chance? I've had two of them in
the past. Anytime you make a change in BIOS settings or a major change
like you did the board requires you to switch off the PSU and then back
on again. Not sure if it's just a fluke with the boards or it's a built
in protection thing. I learned this by reading the overclockers forums
in the Asrock MB section. There may be other brands of boards that do
the same thing. I'm not sure. But if it's an Asrock it's working fine.

Bob
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GA-7N400 Pro2 (Rev 1.x) wont turn off completely? setter1 Gigbyte Motherboards 1 January 24th 07 08:27 PM
my barely used 1280 epson wont turn on! dabenz Printers 9 January 8th 06 03:28 PM
my barely used 1280 epson wont turn on! dabenz Printers 0 January 7th 06 12:34 AM
Computer wont turn on...help pepsico Home Design 4 June 23rd 05 10:14 PM
Computer wont turn on...help pepsico Homebuilt PC's 5 June 23rd 05 10:14 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2018 ComputerBanter.com.
The comments are property of their posters.