A Computer hardware and components forum. ComputerBanter.com

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » ComputerBanter.com forum » Processors » Overclocking
Site Map Home Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Need help overclocking my gpu



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old September 23rd 12, 05:19 PM posted to alt.comp.hardware.overclocking
PcGAmeR22[_62_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1
Default Need help overclocking my gpu


Hello folks
I am using a gtx 460 1gb v2 video card , default clocks are
Core Clock Speed 867MHz
RAMDAC Clock Speed 400MHz
Shader Clock 1734MHz
Memory Clock 2025 MHz
core voltage , msi after burner says 1000 mV
i am trying to achieve 980 or 1ghz for core clock if possible but a
friend told me i need to change the core voltages to achieve that clock

how much should i pick up the voltage


  #2  
Old September 24th 12, 08:20 PM posted to alt.comp.hardware.overclocking
Paul
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 13,411
Default Need help overclocking my gpu

PcGAmeR22 wrote:
Hello folks
I am using a gtx 460 1gb v2 video card , default clocks are
Core Clock Speed 867MHz
RAMDAC Clock Speed 400MHz
Shader Clock 1734MHz
Memory Clock 2025 MHz
core voltage , msi after burner says 1000 mV
i am trying to achieve 980 or 1ghz for core clock if possible but a
friend told me i need to change the core voltages to achieve that clock

how much should i pick up the voltage



900MHz @ 1.050 volts
900MHz # 1.037 volts

http://www.overclock.net/t/787713/wo...e-with-gtx-460

According to this, if you push it too far, the VRM declares
a problem, and the clock falls back for protection. So getting
to 1GHz might be tough to do. 900MHz looks easier. And according
to this, not all the cards have adjustable GPU VID voltage.

http://www.anandtech.com/show/3809/n...he-200-king/18

Paul
  #3  
Old September 26th 12, 01:42 PM posted to alt.comp.hardware.overclocking
PcGAmeR22[_63_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1
Default Need help overclocking my gpu


so i need to push my volts up to 1050 volts ? and i can call it a day
and overclock to 900 mhz without crashing in some games


  #4  
Old September 26th 12, 05:21 PM posted to alt.comp.hardware.overclocking
Paul
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 13,411
Default Need help overclocking my gpu

PcGAmeR22 wrote:
so i need to push my volts up to 1050 volts ? and i can call it a day
and overclock to 900 mhz without crashing in some games


You don't usually attack overclocking that way.

If the voltage is 1.000 now, you'd try bumping the frequency, to see
how far it will go with 1.000V.

Then, bump the control by the next voltage step. Repeat the tests
varying the frequency, until you get instability.

You proceed in small steps, to avoid big crashes. And by
doing it in small steps, you can make a graph on a piece
of paper. Making the graph, is to spot trends. For example,
if increasing the voltage, does not result in more frequency
range, then you've hit a "wall". And upon seeing that, there
is no point in trying to overclock further. You can then
turn the voltage down, to the point that the wall becomes
evident, and conclude that no further overclocking is worthwhile.

Looking at the graph, you can also extrapolate, and figure out
how much voltage it will take to get to a given frequency. The slope
of the graph, tells you where the card is headed.

You can see the slope of the line, in the plot here for a card. I
can predict using this graph, that I need 1.19V to reach 1120MHz.
That's an extrapolation.

http://tpucdn.com/reviews/NVIDIA/GeF...vs_voltage.gif

( http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/N...TX_680/30.html )

And when you're finished, you don't leave the settings "on the
edge of stability". You crank down the frequency a bit, so the
card will always be stable in the games you play. If you're playing
against other players on the Internet, it wouldn't be very convenient
if your video card crashed every five minutes and the game had
to be started up again. You want settings that you can actually
use for something.

Paul
  #5  
Old September 27th 12, 01:54 AM posted to alt.comp.hardware.overclocking
PcGAmeR22[_64_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1
Default Need help overclocking my gpu


sounds very difficult ... i never knew overclocking was so hard


  #6  
Old September 29th 12, 11:32 PM posted to alt.comp.hardware.overclocking
PcGAmeR22[_65_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1
Default Need help overclocking my gpu


hello mate i pushed the core voltage to 1025v
ran oc scanner for 15 minutes on the following clocks
core 940
shader 1880
memory 2030
fan speed 100
temps went up to 74 and didnt go above that number , is this okay ?
[image:
https://sphotos-b.xx.fbcdn.net/hphot...4196033_o.jpg]


  #7  
Old September 30th 12, 05:23 PM posted to alt.comp.hardware.overclocking
Paul
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 13,411
Default Need help overclocking my gpu

PcGAmeR22 wrote:
hello mate i pushed the core voltage to 1025v
ran oc scanner for 15 minutes on the following clocks
core 940
shader 1880
memory 2030
fan speed 100
temps went up to 74 and didnt go above that number , is this okay ?
[image:
https://sphotos-b.xx.fbcdn.net/hphot...4196033_o.jpg]



You got more than 900, so you're doing pretty good.

Time to test it on some real games, to make sure it's stable.

Paul
  #8  
Old October 1st 12, 03:55 AM posted to alt.comp.hardware.overclocking
PcGAmeR22[_66_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1
Default Need help overclocking my gpu


I pulled the voltage up to 1035v , pulled the core clock up to 990 mhz
without touching the memory , i played assassins creed for only 2
minutes and the game froze and crashed
any suggestions ? the temps are around 50c when that happens , so the
temps are okay
should i pick up the voltage


  #9  
Old October 1st 12, 10:01 AM posted to alt.comp.hardware.overclocking
Paul
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 13,411
Default Need help overclocking my gpu

PcGAmeR22 wrote:
I pulled the voltage up to 1035v , pulled the core clock up to 990 mhz
without touching the memory , i played assassins creed for only 2
minutes and the game froze and crashed
any suggestions ? the temps are around 50c when that happens , so the
temps are okay
should i pick up the voltage


You can increase the voltage, until the voltage regulator on
the video card detects an overload, and the clock is automatically reduced.

The thing is, OK, it's not very hot right now. Say you increase the
voltage, and Assassins Creed is stable. But then, you try another
title, and the video card gets really hot. At some point, there
is always going to be an overclock, that just isn't good enough
to keep, and you have to reduce the clock a bit.

Paul
  #10  
Old October 2nd 12, 05:29 PM posted to alt.comp.hardware.overclocking
PcGAmeR22[_68_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1
Default Need help overclocking my gpu


Paul;1358524 Wrote:
PcGAmeR22 wrote:
I pulled the voltage up to 1035v , pulled the core clock up to 990 mhz
without touching the memory , i played assassins creed for only 2
minutes and the game froze and crashed
any suggestions ? the temps are around 50c when that happens , so the
temps are okay
should i pick up the voltage


You can increase the voltage, until the voltage regulator on
the video card detects an overload, and the clock is automatically
reduced.

The thing is, OK, it's not very hot right now. Say you increase the

voltage, and Assassins Creed is stable. But then, you try another
title, and the video card gets really hot. At some point, there
is always going to be an overclock, that just isn't good enough
to keep, and you have to reduce the clock a bit.

Paul

Is 1060v enough for those clocks " 960/2060 memory , i know i may be
going extreme but i overclocked to 940core/2040memory with 1025v and ran
bf3 on ultra on the between rock and hard mission "where the game takes
most of the hardware " and it seems pretty stable , the game crashed
after 30 minutes due to low virtual memory , im pretty sure it wasnt a
gpu crash , i have 8 gigs of ram but i can only use 3.5 , and with
google chrome and skype on the background such crashings are expected
oh p.s i noticed sometimes oc doesnt really do anything to my fps , is
that possibly due to improper voltage ?


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
overclocking Steve B Nvidia Videocards 4 March 16th 06 04:18 PM
"Overclocking failed" but no overclocking attempted jbgcjncg Overclocking AMD Processors 7 November 17th 05 12:33 AM
Overclocking Noob Requires Advise on overclocking-unlocking DVS__DVIT__INC Overclocking AMD Processors 1 September 13th 04 07:07 PM
Overclocking Cloud_Strife General Hardware 8 May 6th 04 02:42 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2018 ComputerBanter.com.
The comments are property of their posters.