A Computer hardware and components forum. ComputerBanter.com

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » ComputerBanter.com forum » General Hardware & Peripherals » General
Site Map Home Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Disk cloning interrupted - MBR corrupted?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old December 7th 08, 08:30 AM posted to alt.comp.hardware
John Smith[_11_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1
Default Disk cloning interrupted - MBR corrupted?

I would really appreciate if someone would help.

My hd is getting old and just to be sure I bought a same size hd (both sata) and
started "Ranish" disk cloning software. Unfortunately the disk cloning was
interrupted at 2% and I had to reboot.

Previously I had disk C (main hd) and disk D which would be my new main HD.

After rebooting I Windows 2000 reported a lot of errors which it then went to
fix. After a lengthy time it managed to reboot to Windows 2000. What appears now
is I have former disk C showing up as disk D and vice versa. It appears the disk
cloning had managed to copy most of the windows system to D which is now C. I
have not changed any cables.

My old hd is now disk D and all files appear to be intact there ... whew!

Thinking I can fix this easy by taking off the new hd and reboot with my old hd
in place I ran n to problems. Unfortunately it refuses to boot and windown
complain of missing [boot drive]winnt\systems32\ntosknl.exe (or something).

The missing files are there I check. I reckon the problem is that the my old hd
has its MBR saying "boot from the other hd". If I fix the MBR it should boot
normally.

What can I do? I have taken the necessary backups.
  #2  
Old December 7th 08, 11:23 AM posted to alt.comp.hardware
Jimmy Neutron
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 24
Default Disk cloning interrupted - MBR corrupted?

I've also dislocated my Windows 2000 installation CD - bummer -

I should probably run fixmbr but it requires the lost CD. Can fixmbr or fixboot
be downloaded from from MS or somewhere?

When the computer loads it show I have two "My Computer" in windows explorer.
  #3  
Old December 7th 08, 02:56 PM posted to alt.comp.hardware
Mike Walsh[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 102
Default Disk cloning interrupted - MBR corrupted?



John Smith wrote:

I would really appreciate if someone would help.

My hd is getting old and just to be sure I bought a same size hd (both sata) and
started "Ranish" disk cloning software. Unfortunately the disk cloning was
interrupted at 2% and I had to reboot.

Previously I had disk C (main hd) and disk D which would be my new main HD.

After rebooting I Windows 2000 reported a lot of errors which it then went to
fix. After a lengthy time it managed to reboot to Windows 2000. What appears now
is I have former disk C showing up as disk D and vice versa. It appears the disk
cloning had managed to copy most of the windows system to D which is now C. I
have not changed any cables.

My old hd is now disk D and all files appear to be intact there ... whew!

Thinking I can fix this easy by taking off the new hd and reboot with my old hd
in place I ran n to problems. Unfortunately it refuses to boot and windown
complain of missing [boot drive]winnt\systems32\ntosknl.exe (or something).


The problem might be that Boot.ini is telling it to look in the wrong place. You need a line with this to load Windows from the first partition of the first drive.
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)

The missing files are there I check. I reckon the problem is that the my old hd
has its MBR saying "boot from the other hd". If I fix the MBR it should boot
normally.

What can I do? I have taken the necessary backups.


--
Mike Walsh
  #4  
Old December 7th 08, 06:38 PM posted to alt.comp.hardware
Jimmy Neutron
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 24
Default Disk cloning interrupted - MBR corrupted?

Mike Walsh wrote:



John Smith wrote:

I would really appreciate if someone would help.

My hd is getting old and just to be sure I bought a same size hd (both sata) and
started "Ranish" disk cloning software. Unfortunately the disk cloning was
interrupted at 2% and I had to reboot.

Previously I had disk C (main hd) and disk D which would be my new main HD.

After rebooting I Windows 2000 reported a lot of errors which it then went to
fix. After a lengthy time it managed to reboot to Windows 2000. What appears now
is I have former disk C showing up as disk D and vice versa. It appears the disk
cloning had managed to copy most of the windows system to D which is now C. I
have not changed any cables.

My old hd is now disk D and all files appear to be intact there ... whew!

Thinking I can fix this easy by taking off the new hd and reboot with my old hd
in place I ran n to problems. Unfortunately it refuses to boot and windown
complain of missing [boot drive]winnt\systems32\ntosknl.exe (or something).


The problem might be that Boot.ini is telling it to look in the wrong place. You need a line with this to load Windows from the first partition of the first drive.
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)


I have that on both hd's. Is that OK?
I have to SATA hd's. One is a partial duplicate of the other. When w2k boots it
starts to boot from the partial duplicate. If I take out that hd and leave the
hopefully intact original hd it does not boot and w2k says it can't find
ntoskrnl.exe.

I figure that after my hd duplicate operation failed and I went to boot the
computer w2k mistakenly repaired the duplicate (it has a lot of repair files) to
work somewhat and made the original hd to be "hd2". Both have same boot.ini
however.




The missing files are there I check. I reckon the problem is that the my old hd
has its MBR saying "boot from the other hd". If I fix the MBR it should boot
normally.

What can I do? I have taken the necessary backups.

  #5  
Old December 7th 08, 07:14 PM posted to alt.comp.hardware
Mike Walsh[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 102
Default Disk cloning interrupted - MBR corrupted?



Jimmy Neutron wrote:

Mike Walsh wrote:



John Smith wrote:

I would really appreciate if someone would help.

My hd is getting old and just to be sure I bought a same size hd (both sata) and
started "Ranish" disk cloning software. Unfortunately the disk cloning was
interrupted at 2% and I had to reboot.

Previously I had disk C (main hd) and disk D which would be my new main HD.

After rebooting I Windows 2000 reported a lot of errors which it then went to
fix. After a lengthy time it managed to reboot to Windows 2000. What appears now
is I have former disk C showing up as disk D and vice versa. It appears the disk
cloning had managed to copy most of the windows system to D which is now C. I
have not changed any cables.

My old hd is now disk D and all files appear to be intact there ... whew!

Thinking I can fix this easy by taking off the new hd and reboot with my old hd
in place I ran n to problems. Unfortunately it refuses to boot and windown
complain of missing [boot drive]winnt\systems32\ntosknl.exe (or something).


The problem might be that Boot.ini is telling it to look in the wrong place. You need a line with this to load Windows from the first partition of the first drive.
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)


I have that on both hd's. Is that OK?


Yes. rdisk(0) tells it to load Windows from the boot disk (specified in the BIOS).
rdisk(1) is the second disk e.g. you can boot from one disk and load Windows from another. Boot.ini can have many entries on a multi-boot system.

I have to SATA hd's. One is a partial duplicate of the other. When w2k boots it
starts to boot from the partial duplicate. If I take out that hd and leave the
hopefully intact original hd it does not boot and w2k says it can't find
ntoskrnl.exe.


Don't know why it can't find ntoskrnl.exe but here are some basics to check.
The BIOS specifies which drive to boot from.
There must be one active partition on the boot drive.
Boot.ini, ntldr, and ntdetect.com must be in the root directory of the active partition.
Boot.ini should have an entry something like this:
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS=" Description here "
Multi and disk should be 0 except on a SCSI drive.
Rdisk specifies which drive to load Windows from; 0 is the first drive.
Partition specifies which partition to load Windows from; 1 is the first partition. Check to see if the Windows partition is in fact the first partition.
\WINDOWS (in this example) is the Windows directory.

If I recall correctly ntoskrnl.exe is the first file that is loaded from the Windows directory. Try clearing the attributes of ntoskrnl.exe. Try replacing it with a known good file.

I figure that after my hd duplicate operation failed and I went to boot the
computer w2k mistakenly repaired the duplicate (it has a lot of repair files) to
work somewhat and made the original hd to be "hd2". Both have same boot.ini
however.


The missing files are there I check. I reckon the problem is that the my old hd
has its MBR saying "boot from the other hd". If I fix the MBR it should boot
normally.

What can I do? I have taken the necessary backups.


--
Mike Walsh
  #6  
Old December 8th 08, 01:17 AM posted to alt.comp.hardware
Andy
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 355
Default Disk cloning interrupted - MBR corrupted?

On Sun, 07 Dec 2008 10:30:40 +0200, John Smith wrote:

I would really appreciate if someone would help.

My hd is getting old and just to be sure I bought a same size hd (both sata) and
started "Ranish" disk cloning software. Unfortunately the disk cloning was
interrupted at 2% and I had to reboot.

Previously I had disk C (main hd) and disk D which would be my new main HD.

After rebooting I Windows 2000 reported a lot of errors which it then went to
fix. After a lengthy time it managed to reboot to Windows 2000. What appears now
is I have former disk C showing up as disk D and vice versa. It appears the disk
cloning had managed to copy most of the windows system to D which is now C. I
have not changed any cables.

My old hd is now disk D and all files appear to be intact there ... whew!

Thinking I can fix this easy by taking off the new hd and reboot with my old hd
in place I ran n to problems. Unfortunately it refuses to boot and windown
complain of missing [boot drive]winnt\systems32\ntosknl.exe (or something).

The missing files are there I check. I reckon the problem is that the my old hd
has its MBR saying "boot from the other hd". If I fix the MBR it should boot
normally.


The disk signature in the MBR of the old disk has been changed. That's
why it became drive D: as you described above. When you then boot from
the old drive alone, Windows uses the disk signature as specified
under MountedDevices in the registry to reference the correct disk,
which is now the clone disk.


What can I do? I have taken the necessary backups.


Boot from a Windows 98 emergency boot disk, and run fdisk /mbr to zero
the disk signature in the old disk. Then you can boot and run Windows
from the old disk.
  #7  
Old December 8th 08, 02:47 PM posted to alt.comp.hardware
Jimmy Neutron
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 24
Default Disk cloning interrupted - MBR corrupted?

OK - got it fixed. Thanks for all replies.
  #8  
Old December 14th 08, 10:31 PM posted to alt.comp.hardware
~misfit~[_11_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 42
Default Disk cloning interrupted - MBR corrupted?

Somewhere on teh intarwebs "Jimmy Neutron" typed:
OK - got it fixed. Thanks for all replies.


How? It is customory to report so others can learn from it....
--
Shaun.


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fixing a bad or corrupted hard disk? Pvest Storage (alt) 6 August 21st 06 08:01 AM
Disk Cloning / Imaging Dan Storage (alt) 37 June 18th 05 11:08 AM
W2K SP4 and 160GB disk CORRUPTED AB Storage (alt) 4 September 29th 04 12:41 PM
NTFS disk corrupted - drive tested ok (why?) AC Storage (alt) 1 June 17th 04 05:06 PM
Interrupted low level format on Samsung 160GB disk AB Storage (alt) 2 January 23rd 04 08:51 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2018 ComputerBanter.com.
The comments are property of their posters.