A Computer hardware and components forum. ComputerBanter.com

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » ComputerBanter.com forum » System Manufacturers & Vendors » Acer Computers
Site Map Home Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Acer Aspire 5630 Laptop screen/display problem



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old April 23rd 09, 08:42 PM posted to alt.comp.hardware,alt.sys.pc-clone.acer,comp.sys.laptops,uk.comp.sys.laptops
Pete Zahut
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 25
Default Acer Aspire 5630 Laptop screen/display problem

Got the above laptop and it's just developed a problem with the
screen/display - there's a 65mm column at the right-hand side of the display
that's gone dark. Applications open up properly and you can see the whole
width of the app, but it doesn't go the whole width of the screen - sort of
full display but not full screen if you see what I mean. Also, don't know if
it's relevant or not but the taskbar at the bottom seems to be twice as tall
as normal and isn't drag-able back to it's usual size - cursor also distorts
in this area.

I'm not explaining it very well, so have a look at this photo:

http://s137.photobucket.com/albums/q...nt=laptop1.jpg

At first I thought it may be a display driver issue but I've uninstalled and
reinstalled without success. I've also used a program called #1-TuffTest Pro
(http://www.tufftest.com/ttp01.htm) that is self-booting, operating system
independent and never goes anywhere near Windows, but shows the same
results, so I would say that that rules out any Windows driver issues.
Picture of that test he

http://s137.photobucket.com/albums/q...nt=laptop2.jpg

Any ideas what's wrong and how to fix it?

TIA,

Pete


  #2  
Old April 23rd 09, 09:22 PM posted to alt.comp.hardware,alt.sys.pc-clone.acer,comp.sys.laptops,uk.comp.sys.laptops
BillW50
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,710
Default Acer Aspire 5630 Laptop screen/display problem

In ,
Pete Zahut typed on Thu, 23 Apr 2009 20:42:46 +0100:
Got the above laptop and it's just developed a problem with the
screen/display - there's a 65mm column at the right-hand side of the
display that's gone dark. Applications open up properly and you can
see the whole width of the app, but it doesn't go the whole width of
the screen - sort of full display but not full screen if you see what
I mean. Also, don't know if it's relevant or not but the taskbar at
the bottom seems to be twice as tall as normal and isn't drag-able
back to it's usual size - cursor also distorts in this area.

I'm not explaining it very well, so have a look at this photo:

http://s137.photobucket.com/albums/q...nt=laptop1.jpg

At first I thought it may be a display driver issue but I've
uninstalled and reinstalled without success. I've also used a program
called #1-TuffTest Pro (http://www.tufftest.com/ttp01.htm) that is
self-booting, operating system independent and never goes anywhere
near Windows, but shows the same results, so I would say that that
rules out any Windows driver issues. Picture of that test he

http://s137.photobucket.com/albums/q...nt=laptop2.jpg

Any ideas what's wrong and how to fix it?

TIA,


Hi Pete! Wow that is weird. An external monitor I can see this
happening. Internal monitor, I never saw this. Any chance you can hook
it up to an external? I suspect the same result. Although you may adjust
it to display correctly. In either case, I believe you have to take it
in for service. It is still under warrantee, right?

--
Bill
Asus EEE PC 701G4 ~ 2GB RAM ~ 16GB-SDHC
Windows XP SP2


  #3  
Old April 24th 09, 02:03 AM posted to alt.comp.hardware,alt.sys.pc-clone.acer,comp.sys.laptops,uk.comp.sys.laptops
Paul
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 13,411
Default Acer Aspire 5630 Laptop screen/display problem

Pete Zahut wrote:
Got the above laptop and it's just developed a problem with the
screen/display - there's a 65mm column at the right-hand side of the display
that's gone dark. Applications open up properly and you can see the whole
width of the app, but it doesn't go the whole width of the screen - sort of
full display but not full screen if you see what I mean. Also, don't know if
it's relevant or not but the taskbar at the bottom seems to be twice as tall
as normal and isn't drag-able back to it's usual size - cursor also distorts
in this area.

I'm not explaining it very well, so have a look at this photo:

http://s137.photobucket.com/albums/q...nt=laptop1.jpg

At first I thought it may be a display driver issue but I've uninstalled and
reinstalled without success. I've also used a program called #1-TuffTest Pro
(http://www.tufftest.com/ttp01.htm) that is self-booting, operating system
independent and never goes anywhere near Windows, but shows the same
results, so I would say that that rules out any Windows driver issues.
Picture of that test he

http://s137.photobucket.com/albums/q...nt=laptop2.jpg

Any ideas what's wrong and how to fix it?

TIA,

Pete


Have you done a graphics driver update recently ?

It looks like a mismatch, between the actual LCD panel,
and what the software thinks it is driving.

Paul

  #4  
Old April 24th 09, 12:04 PM posted to alt.comp.hardware,alt.sys.pc-clone.acer,comp.sys.laptops,uk.comp.sys.laptops
Pete Zahut
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 25
Default Acer Aspire 5630 Laptop screen/display problem

BillW50 wrote:
In ,
Pete Zahut typed on Thu, 23 Apr 2009 20:42:46 +0100:
Got the above laptop and it's just developed a problem with the
screen/display - there's a 65mm column at the right-hand side of the
display that's gone dark. Applications open up properly and you can
see the whole width of the app, but it doesn't go the whole width of
the screen - sort of full display but not full screen if you see what
I mean. Also, don't know if it's relevant or not but the taskbar at
the bottom seems to be twice as tall as normal and isn't drag-able
back to it's usual size - cursor also distorts in this area.

I'm not explaining it very well, so have a look at this photo:

http://s137.photobucket.com/albums/q...nt=laptop1.jpg

At first I thought it may be a display driver issue but I've
uninstalled and reinstalled without success. I've also used a program
called #1-TuffTest Pro (http://www.tufftest.com/ttp01.htm) that is
self-booting, operating system independent and never goes anywhere
near Windows, but shows the same results, so I would say that that
rules out any Windows driver issues. Picture of that test he

http://s137.photobucket.com/albums/q...nt=laptop2.jpg

Any ideas what's wrong and how to fix it?

TIA,


Hi Pete! Wow that is weird. An external monitor I can see this
happening. Internal monitor, I never saw this. Any chance you can hook
it up to an external? I suspect the same result. Although you may
adjust it to display correctly. In either case, I believe you have to
take it in for service. It is still under warrantee, right?


I haven't as yet hooked it up to an external monitor, but will do later
today when I have chance, and let you know what I find. Unfortunately, it's
not in warranty so whatever it is, I'll have to pay for the repair if it's a
hardware fault (

Thanks Bill


  #5  
Old April 24th 09, 12:12 PM posted to alt.comp.hardware,alt.sys.pc-clone.acer,comp.sys.laptops,uk.comp.sys.laptops
Pete Zahut
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 25
Default Acer Aspire 5630 Laptop screen/display problem

Paul wrote:
Pete Zahut wrote:
Got the above laptop and it's just developed a problem with the
screen/display - there's a 65mm column at the right-hand side of the
display that's gone dark. Applications open up properly and you can
see the whole width of the app, but it doesn't go the whole width of
the screen - sort of full display but not full screen if you see
what I mean. Also, don't know if it's relevant or not but the
taskbar at the bottom seems to be twice as tall as normal and isn't
drag-able back to it's usual size - cursor also distorts in this
area. I'm not explaining it very well, so have a look at this photo:

http://s137.photobucket.com/albums/q...nt=laptop1.jpg

At first I thought it may be a display driver issue but I've
uninstalled and reinstalled without success. I've also used a
program called #1-TuffTest Pro (http://www.tufftest.com/ttp01.htm)
that is self-booting, operating system independent and never goes
anywhere near Windows, but shows the same results, so I would say
that that rules out any Windows driver issues. Picture of that test
he
http://s137.photobucket.com/albums/q...nt=laptop2.jpg

Any ideas what's wrong and how to fix it?

TIA,

Pete


Have you done a graphics driver update recently ?


No - uninstalled and reinstalled driver to try to fix the problem, but not
updated.

It looks like a mismatch, between the actual LCD panel,
and what the software thinks it is driving.

Paul


Yeah, I'd agree with you there Paul - except for the fact that I've even
used the Recovery CD/Partition to restore the laptop to the state it was in
when it left the factory and the display is still faulty even then.


  #6  
Old April 25th 09, 01:22 PM posted to alt.comp.hardware,alt.sys.pc-clone.acer,comp.sys.laptops,uk.comp.sys.laptops
Pete Zahut
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 25
Default Acer Aspire 5630 Laptop screen/display problem

Pete Zahut wrote:
BillW50 wrote:
In ,
Pete Zahut typed on Thu, 23 Apr 2009 20:42:46 +0100:
Got the above laptop and it's just developed a problem with the
screen/display - there's a 65mm column at the right-hand side of the
display that's gone dark. Applications open up properly and you can
see the whole width of the app, but it doesn't go the whole width of
the screen - sort of full display but not full screen if you see
what I mean. Also, don't know if it's relevant or not but the
taskbar at the bottom seems to be twice as tall as normal and isn't
drag-able back to it's usual size - cursor also distorts in this
area. I'm not explaining it very well, so have a look at this photo:

http://s137.photobucket.com/albums/q...nt=laptop1.jpg

At first I thought it may be a display driver issue but I've
uninstalled and reinstalled without success. I've also used a
program called #1-TuffTest Pro (http://www.tufftest.com/ttp01.htm)
that is self-booting, operating system independent and never goes
anywhere near Windows, but shows the same results, so I would say
that that rules out any Windows driver issues. Picture of that test
he
http://s137.photobucket.com/albums/q...nt=laptop2.jpg

Any ideas what's wrong and how to fix it?

TIA,


Hi Pete! Wow that is weird. An external monitor I can see this
happening. Internal monitor, I never saw this. Any chance you can
hook it up to an external? I suspect the same result. Although you
may adjust it to display correctly. In either case, I believe you
have to take it in for service. It is still under warrantee, right?


I haven't as yet hooked it up to an external monitor, but will do
later today when I have chance, and let you know what I find.
Unfortunately, it's not in warranty so whatever it is, I'll have to
pay for the repair if it's a hardware fault (

Thanks Bill


Bill (and anyone else who's interested, of course), further to the above
I've now hooked it up to an external monitor and the display on the external
monitor is perfect.

Photo at
http://s137.photobucket.com/albums/q...t=laptop2a.jpg

Don't know what that means though (

Pete


  #7  
Old April 25th 09, 02:34 PM posted to alt.comp.hardware,alt.sys.pc-clone.acer,comp.sys.laptops,uk.comp.sys.laptops
BillW50
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,710
Default Acer Aspire 5630 Laptop screen/display problem

In ,
Pete Zahut typed on Sat, 25 Apr 2009 13:22:24 +0100:
Pete Zahut wrote:
BillW50 wrote:
In ,
Pete Zahut typed on Thu, 23 Apr 2009 20:42:46 +0100:
Got the above laptop and it's just developed a problem with the
screen/display - there's a 65mm column at the right-hand side of
the display that's gone dark. Applications open up properly and
you can see the whole width of the app, but it doesn't go the
whole width of the screen - sort of full display but not full
screen if you see what I mean. Also, don't know if it's relevant
or not but the taskbar at the bottom seems to be twice as tall as
normal and isn't drag-able back to it's usual size - cursor also
distorts in this area. I'm not explaining it very well, so have a
look at this photo:
http://s137.photobucket.com/albums/q...nt=laptop1.jpg

At first I thought it may be a display driver issue but I've
uninstalled and reinstalled without success. I've also used a
program called #1-TuffTest Pro (http://www.tufftest.com/ttp01.htm)
that is self-booting, operating system independent and never goes
anywhere near Windows, but shows the same results, so I would say
that that rules out any Windows driver issues. Picture of that test
he
http://s137.photobucket.com/albums/q...nt=laptop2.jpg

Any ideas what's wrong and how to fix it?

TIA,

Hi Pete! Wow that is weird. An external monitor I can see this
happening. Internal monitor, I never saw this. Any chance you can
hook it up to an external? I suspect the same result. Although you
may adjust it to display correctly. In either case, I believe you
have to take it in for service. It is still under warrantee, right?


I haven't as yet hooked it up to an external monitor, but will do
later today when I have chance, and let you know what I find.
Unfortunately, it's not in warranty so whatever it is, I'll have to
pay for the repair if it's a hardware fault (

Thanks Bill


Bill (and anyone else who's interested, of course), further to the
above I've now hooked it up to an external monitor and the display on
the external monitor is perfect.

Photo at
http://s137.photobucket.com/albums/q...t=laptop2a.jpg

Don't know what that means though (


Hi Pete! Well now we know. I doubt this laptop has a separate video card
and it is all on the motherboard. If somebody knows differently, please
let us know. Wait... I found a picture of the motherboard...

http://www.notebooksolutions.ca/zc/i...oducts_id=2775

Nope, it looks like it is on the motherboard to me. Well after the
external video jack (which is analog video), it gets converted to
digital and fed to the LCD display. So we are talking about the
motherboard, ribbon cable, and the LCD display itself. And I don't think
it could be the last two, but I could be wrong. So that is what I think
anyway.

--
Bill
Asus EEE PC 701G4 ~ 2GB RAM ~ 16GB-SDHC
Windows XP SP2


  #8  
Old April 25th 09, 04:01 PM posted to alt.comp.hardware,alt.sys.pc-clone.acer,comp.sys.laptops,uk.comp.sys.laptops
Pete Zahut
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 25
Default Acer Aspire 5630 Laptop screen/display problem

BillW50 wrote:
In ,
Pete Zahut typed on Sat, 25 Apr 2009 13:22:24 +0100:
Pete Zahut wrote:
BillW50 wrote:
In ,
Pete Zahut typed on Thu, 23 Apr 2009 20:42:46 +0100:
Got the above laptop and it's just developed a problem with the
screen/display - there's a 65mm column at the right-hand side of
the display that's gone dark. Applications open up properly and
you can see the whole width of the app, but it doesn't go the
whole width of the screen - sort of full display but not full
screen if you see what I mean. Also, don't know if it's relevant
or not but the taskbar at the bottom seems to be twice as tall as
normal and isn't drag-able back to it's usual size - cursor also
distorts in this area. I'm not explaining it very well, so have a
look at this photo:
http://s137.photobucket.com/albums/q...nt=laptop1.jpg

At first I thought it may be a display driver issue but I've
uninstalled and reinstalled without success. I've also used a
program called #1-TuffTest Pro (http://www.tufftest.com/ttp01.htm)
that is self-booting, operating system independent and never goes
anywhere near Windows, but shows the same results, so I would say
that that rules out any Windows driver issues. Picture of that
test he
http://s137.photobucket.com/albums/q...nt=laptop2.jpg

Any ideas what's wrong and how to fix it?

TIA,

Hi Pete! Wow that is weird. An external monitor I can see this
happening. Internal monitor, I never saw this. Any chance you can
hook it up to an external? I suspect the same result. Although you
may adjust it to display correctly. In either case, I believe you
have to take it in for service. It is still under warrantee, right?

I haven't as yet hooked it up to an external monitor, but will do
later today when I have chance, and let you know what I find.
Unfortunately, it's not in warranty so whatever it is, I'll have to
pay for the repair if it's a hardware fault (

Thanks Bill


Bill (and anyone else who's interested, of course), further to the
above I've now hooked it up to an external monitor and the display on
the external monitor is perfect.

Photo at
http://s137.photobucket.com/albums/q...t=laptop2a.jpg

Don't know what that means though (


Hi Pete! Well now we know. I doubt this laptop has a separate video
card and it is all on the motherboard. If somebody knows differently,
please let us know. Wait... I found a picture of the motherboard...

http://www.notebooksolutions.ca/zc/i...oducts_id=2775

Nope, it looks like it is on the motherboard to me. Well after the
external video jack (which is analog video), it gets converted to
digital and fed to the LCD display. So we are talking about the
motherboard, ribbon cable, and the LCD display itself. And I don't
think it could be the last two, but I could be wrong. So that is what
I think anyway.


Thanks for that Bill, looks like a very expensive repair that isn't really
worth it - not yet anyway.

Cheers my friend,

Pete


  #9  
Old April 25th 09, 04:35 PM posted to alt.comp.hardware,alt.sys.pc-clone.acer,comp.sys.laptops,uk.comp.sys.laptops
BillW50
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,710
Default Acer Aspire 5630 Laptop screen/display problem

In ,
Pete Zahut typed on Sat, 25 Apr 2009 16:01:12 +0100:
BillW50 wrote:
In ,
Pete Zahut typed on Sat, 25 Apr 2009 13:22:24 +0100:
Pete Zahut wrote:
BillW50 wrote:
In ,
Pete Zahut typed on Thu, 23 Apr 2009 20:42:46 +0100:
Got the above laptop and it's just developed a problem with the
screen/display - there's a 65mm column at the right-hand side of
the display that's gone dark. Applications open up properly and
you can see the whole width of the app, but it doesn't go the
whole width of the screen - sort of full display but not full
screen if you see what I mean. Also, don't know if it's relevant
or not but the taskbar at the bottom seems to be twice as tall as
normal and isn't drag-able back to it's usual size - cursor also
distorts in this area. I'm not explaining it very well, so have a
look at this photo:
http://s137.photobucket.com/albums/q...nt=laptop1.jpg

At first I thought it may be a display driver issue but I've
uninstalled and reinstalled without success. I've also used a
program called #1-TuffTest Pro
(http://www.tufftest.com/ttp01.htm) that is self-booting,
operating system independent and never goes anywhere near
Windows, but shows the same results, so I would say that that
rules out any Windows driver issues. Picture of that test he
http://s137.photobucket.com/albums/q...nt=laptop2.jpg

Any ideas what's wrong and how to fix it?

TIA,

Hi Pete! Wow that is weird. An external monitor I can see this
happening. Internal monitor, I never saw this. Any chance you can
hook it up to an external? I suspect the same result. Although you
may adjust it to display correctly. In either case, I believe you
have to take it in for service. It is still under warrantee,
right?

I haven't as yet hooked it up to an external monitor, but will do
later today when I have chance, and let you know what I find.
Unfortunately, it's not in warranty so whatever it is, I'll have to
pay for the repair if it's a hardware fault (

Thanks Bill

Bill (and anyone else who's interested, of course), further to the
above I've now hooked it up to an external monitor and the display
on the external monitor is perfect.

Photo at
http://s137.photobucket.com/albums/q...t=laptop2a.jpg

Don't know what that means though (


Hi Pete! Well now we know. I doubt this laptop has a separate video
card and it is all on the motherboard. If somebody knows differently,
please let us know. Wait... I found a picture of the motherboard...

http://www.notebooksolutions.ca/zc/i...oducts_id=2775

Nope, it looks like it is on the motherboard to me. Well after the
external video jack (which is analog video), it gets converted to
digital and fed to the LCD display. So we are talking about the
motherboard, ribbon cable, and the LCD display itself. And I don't
think it could be the last two, but I could be wrong. So that is what
I think anyway.


Thanks for that Bill, looks like a very expensive repair that isn't
really worth it - not yet anyway.

Cheers my friend,

Pete


Hi Pete! Well another ribbon cable should be cheap enough to try. I
don't think it is that though. If it were me, I would find one on eBay
working or with some other problem. Best if the other problem wasn't
something wrong with the motherboard. That way you could swap parts
until you find out which one of the three it was. I really think it is
the motherboard though.

I don't know what you want to do with it. But if you are not interested
in it, I would sell it or something. As somebody can use it as is or
with an external monitor. Or even fix it. grin

--
Bill
Asus EEE PC 701G4 ~ 2GB RAM ~ 16GB-SDHC
Windows XP SP2


  #10  
Old April 25th 09, 04:57 PM posted to alt.comp.hardware,alt.sys.pc-clone.acer,comp.sys.laptops,uk.comp.sys.laptops
Pete Zahut
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 25
Default Acer Aspire 5630 Laptop screen/display problem

BillW50 wrote:
In ,
Pete Zahut typed on Sat, 25 Apr 2009 16:01:12 +0100:
BillW50 wrote:
In ,
Pete Zahut typed on Sat, 25 Apr 2009 13:22:24 +0100:
Pete Zahut wrote:
BillW50 wrote:
In ,
Pete Zahut typed on Thu, 23 Apr 2009 20:42:46 +0100:
Got the above laptop and it's just developed a problem with the
screen/display - there's a 65mm column at the right-hand side of
the display that's gone dark. Applications open up properly and
you can see the whole width of the app, but it doesn't go the
whole width of the screen - sort of full display but not full
screen if you see what I mean. Also, don't know if it's relevant
or not but the taskbar at the bottom seems to be twice as tall
as normal and isn't drag-able back to it's usual size - cursor
also distorts in this area. I'm not explaining it very well, so
have a look at this photo:
http://s137.photobucket.com/albums/q...nt=laptop1.jpg

At first I thought it may be a display driver issue but I've
uninstalled and reinstalled without success. I've also used a
program called #1-TuffTest Pro
(http://www.tufftest.com/ttp01.htm) that is self-booting,
operating system independent and never goes anywhere near
Windows, but shows the same results, so I would say that that
rules out any Windows driver issues. Picture of that test he
http://s137.photobucket.com/albums/q...nt=laptop2.jpg

Any ideas what's wrong and how to fix it?

TIA,

Hi Pete! Wow that is weird. An external monitor I can see this
happening. Internal monitor, I never saw this. Any chance you can
hook it up to an external? I suspect the same result. Although
you may adjust it to display correctly. In either case, I
believe you have to take it in for service. It is still under
warrantee, right?

I haven't as yet hooked it up to an external monitor, but will do
later today when I have chance, and let you know what I find.
Unfortunately, it's not in warranty so whatever it is, I'll have
to pay for the repair if it's a hardware fault (

Thanks Bill

Bill (and anyone else who's interested, of course), further to the
above I've now hooked it up to an external monitor and the display
on the external monitor is perfect.

Photo at
http://s137.photobucket.com/albums/q...t=laptop2a.jpg

Don't know what that means though (

Hi Pete! Well now we know. I doubt this laptop has a separate video
card and it is all on the motherboard. If somebody knows
differently, please let us know. Wait... I found a picture of the
motherboard...
http://www.notebooksolutions.ca/zc/i...oducts_id=2775

Nope, it looks like it is on the motherboard to me. Well after the
external video jack (which is analog video), it gets converted to
digital and fed to the LCD display. So we are talking about the
motherboard, ribbon cable, and the LCD display itself. And I don't
think it could be the last two, but I could be wrong. So that is
what I think anyway.


Thanks for that Bill, looks like a very expensive repair that isn't
really worth it - not yet anyway.

Cheers my friend,

Pete


Hi Pete! Well another ribbon cable should be cheap enough to try. I
don't think it is that though. If it were me, I would find one on eBay
working or with some other problem. Best if the other problem wasn't
something wrong with the motherboard. That way you could swap parts
until you find out which one of the three it was. I really think it is
the motherboard though.

I don't know what you want to do with it. But if you are not
interested in it, I would sell it or something. As somebody can use
it as is or with an external monitor. Or even fix it. grin


Oh I'll keep it, it's quite useable as it is, just annoying )


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Acer 3680 laptop broken screen problem Grendal General Hardware 0 December 31st 08 11:45 PM
Acer Aspire 3103 Broken Display Mapin Acer Computers 3 June 11th 07 12:01 AM
Dual Display on Acer Aspire 3003WLCi Tony Acer Computers 0 November 18th 05 03:48 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2018 ComputerBanter.com.
The comments are property of their posters.