A Computer hardware and components forum. ComputerBanter.com

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » ComputerBanter.com forum » Processors » Intel
Site Map Home Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

How does the Skylake fix work?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old January 18th 16, 10:07 PM posted to comp.sys.intel,alt.electronics,uk.rec.driving
Ian Field
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 37
Default "Dumb Guy", The Rectum's Old Whore! LOL



"The Peeler" wrote in message
web.com...
On Mon, 18 Jan 2016 21:33:12 -0000, Dumb Guy wrote:


Just add it to the long list of other things that you have never heard
of,
PHucker.
Such as getting a job, meeting a woman.
You are A ******.

He was never quite the same after being abducted by zombies.


Says the guy with "gang probing" in his email address.


People just don't seem to like you, eh, Phucker? But you don't mind!
Another
sign of you being a true sociopath! BG


The zombie that ate his brain died of malnutrition.

  #12  
Old January 20th 16, 09:55 PM posted to comp.sys.intel,alt.electronics
Ian Field
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 37
Default How does the Skylake fix work?



"Mr Macaw" wrote in message news
On Thu, 14 Jan 2016 11:37:56 -0000, Trent .****of wrote:

On Wed, 13 Jan 2016 13:05:47 -0000 "Mr Macaw" wrote in
Message id: :

On Wed, 13 Jan 2016 13:01:40 -0000, Trent .****of wrote:

On Wed, 13 Jan 2016 12:03:30 -0000 "Mr Macaw" wrote in
Message id: :

Just out of interest, how does a hardware bug in a CPU get fixed by a
software BIOS update? Isn't the bug a physical misconnection in the
circuits?

Microcode updates.
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/microcode

So the bug was in the firmware of the CPU, not the physical circuitry?

I've never heard of or done a CPU firmware update. Are they included
with motherboard BIOS updates?


Yes, the manufacturer of the MB releases a BIOS update to correct the
issue. For this particular errata, Intel has given the MB manufacturers
the information needed to do this.


I've read in MB BIOS update instructions that it fixes X to do with the
CPU, but I always assumed that was a motherboard fault where it didn't
work with new types of CPU etc.


Is that another one you broke on purpose?

  #13  
Old January 20th 16, 10:20 PM posted to comp.sys.intel,alt.electronics
Mr Macaw
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 8
Default How does the Skylake fix work?

On Wed, 20 Jan 2016 21:55:50 -0000, Ian Field wrote:



"Mr Macaw" wrote in message news
On Thu, 14 Jan 2016 11:37:56 -0000, Trent .****of wrote:

On Wed, 13 Jan 2016 13:05:47 -0000 "Mr Macaw" wrote in
Message id: :

On Wed, 13 Jan 2016 13:01:40 -0000, Trent .****of wrote:

On Wed, 13 Jan 2016 12:03:30 -0000 "Mr Macaw" wrote in
Message id: :

Just out of interest, how does a hardware bug in a CPU get fixed by a
software BIOS update? Isn't the bug a physical misconnection in the
circuits?

Microcode updates.
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/microcode

So the bug was in the firmware of the CPU, not the physical circuitry?

I've never heard of or done a CPU firmware update. Are they included
with motherboard BIOS updates?

Yes, the manufacturer of the MB releases a BIOS update to correct the
issue. For this particular errata, Intel has given the MB manufacturers
the information needed to do this.


I've read in MB BIOS update instructions that it fixes X to do with the
CPU, but I always assumed that was a motherboard fault where it didn't
work with new types of CPU etc.


Is that another one you broke on purpose?


I don't have a Skylake. My i5 3570K is working fine. Skylake is only a third faster, no point in upgrading.

--
Please keep your hands off the secretary's reproducing equipment.
  #14  
Old January 21st 16, 06:33 PM posted to comp.sys.intel,alt.electronics
Ian Field
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 37
Default How does the Skylake fix work?



"Mr Macaw" wrote in message news
On Wed, 20 Jan 2016 21:55:50 -0000, Ian Field
wrote:



"Mr Macaw" wrote in message
news
On Thu, 14 Jan 2016 11:37:56 -0000, Trent .****of wrote:

On Wed, 13 Jan 2016 13:05:47 -0000 "Mr Macaw" wrote in
Message id: :

On Wed, 13 Jan 2016 13:01:40 -0000, Trent .****of
wrote:

On Wed, 13 Jan 2016 12:03:30 -0000 "Mr Macaw" wrote in
Message id: :

Just out of interest, how does a hardware bug in a CPU get fixed by
a
software BIOS update? Isn't the bug a physical misconnection in the
circuits?

Microcode updates.
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/microcode

So the bug was in the firmware of the CPU, not the physical circuitry?

I've never heard of or done a CPU firmware update. Are they included
with motherboard BIOS updates?

Yes, the manufacturer of the MB releases a BIOS update to correct the
issue. For this particular errata, Intel has given the MB manufacturers
the information needed to do this.

I've read in MB BIOS update instructions that it fixes X to do with the
CPU, but I always assumed that was a motherboard fault where it didn't
work with new types of CPU etc.


Is that another one you broke on purpose?


I don't have a Skylake. My i5 3570K is working fine. Skylake is only a
third faster, no point in upgrading.


So its just advance planning how to break it when you do get one.

  #15  
Old January 21st 16, 06:57 PM posted to comp.sys.intel,alt.electronics
Mr Macaw
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 8
Default How does the Skylake fix work?

On Thu, 21 Jan 2016 18:33:31 -0000, Ian Field wrote:



"Mr Macaw" wrote in message news
On Wed, 20 Jan 2016 21:55:50 -0000, Ian Field
wrote:



"Mr Macaw" wrote in message
news On Thu, 14 Jan 2016 11:37:56 -0000, Trent .****of wrote:

On Wed, 13 Jan 2016 13:05:47 -0000 "Mr Macaw" wrote in
Message id: :

On Wed, 13 Jan 2016 13:01:40 -0000, Trent .****of
wrote:

On Wed, 13 Jan 2016 12:03:30 -0000 "Mr Macaw" wrote in
Message id: :

Just out of interest, how does a hardware bug in a CPU get fixed by
a
software BIOS update? Isn't the bug a physical misconnection in the
circuits?

Microcode updates.
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/microcode

So the bug was in the firmware of the CPU, not the physical circuitry?

I've never heard of or done a CPU firmware update. Are they included
with motherboard BIOS updates?

Yes, the manufacturer of the MB releases a BIOS update to correct the
issue. For this particular errata, Intel has given the MB manufacturers
the information needed to do this.

I've read in MB BIOS update instructions that it fixes X to do with the
CPU, but I always assumed that was a motherboard fault where it didn't
work with new types of CPU etc.

Is that another one you broke on purpose?


I don't have a Skylake. My i5 3570K is working fine. Skylake is only a
third faster, no point in upgrading.


So its just advance planning how to break it when you do get one.


I was just interested how a hardware fault could be fixed by software. See if I burst my car tyre, can I just upload a fix to my car's on board computer?

--
A man goes home early and catches another man in bed with his wife.
He drags the naked man out of the house and into his garden shed.
There he secures man's penis in a vice and removes the handle, then starts to sharpen a knife.
The naked man shouts, "You're not going to cut it off are you?"
"No, you are," was the reply. "I'm going to set fire to the shed"
  #16  
Old January 21st 16, 09:30 PM posted to comp.sys.intel,alt.electronics
Ian Field
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 37
Default How does the Skylake fix work?



"Mr Macaw" wrote in message news
On Thu, 21 Jan 2016 18:33:31 -0000, Ian Field
wrote:



"Mr Macaw" wrote in message
news
On Wed, 20 Jan 2016 21:55:50 -0000, Ian Field
wrote:



"Mr Macaw" wrote in message
news On Thu, 14 Jan 2016 11:37:56 -0000, Trent .****of
wrote:

On Wed, 13 Jan 2016 13:05:47 -0000 "Mr Macaw" wrote in
Message id: :

On Wed, 13 Jan 2016 13:01:40 -0000, Trent .****of
wrote:

On Wed, 13 Jan 2016 12:03:30 -0000 "Mr Macaw" wrote
in
Message id: :

Just out of interest, how does a hardware bug in a CPU get fixed
by
a
software BIOS update? Isn't the bug a physical misconnection in
the
circuits?

Microcode updates.
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/microcode

So the bug was in the firmware of the CPU, not the physical
circuitry?

I've never heard of or done a CPU firmware update. Are they
included
with motherboard BIOS updates?

Yes, the manufacturer of the MB releases a BIOS update to correct the
issue. For this particular errata, Intel has given the MB
manufacturers
the information needed to do this.

I've read in MB BIOS update instructions that it fixes X to do with
the
CPU, but I always assumed that was a motherboard fault where it didn't
work with new types of CPU etc.

Is that another one you broke on purpose?

I don't have a Skylake. My i5 3570K is working fine. Skylake is only a
third faster, no point in upgrading.


So its just advance planning how to break it when you do get one.


I was just interested how a hardware fault could be fixed by software.
See if I burst my car tyre, can I just upload a fix to my car's on board
computer?


You just download a certain episode of Futurama and it turns into a
hovercar.

  #17  
Old January 21st 16, 09:42 PM posted to comp.sys.intel,alt.electronics
Mr Macaw
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 8
Default How does the Skylake fix work?

On Thu, 21 Jan 2016 21:30:16 -0000, Ian Field wrote:



"Mr Macaw" wrote in message news
On Thu, 21 Jan 2016 18:33:31 -0000, Ian Field
wrote:



"Mr Macaw" wrote in message
news On Wed, 20 Jan 2016 21:55:50 -0000, Ian Field
wrote:



"Mr Macaw" wrote in message
news On Thu, 14 Jan 2016 11:37:56 -0000, Trent .****of
wrote:

On Wed, 13 Jan 2016 13:05:47 -0000 "Mr Macaw" wrote in
Message id: :

On Wed, 13 Jan 2016 13:01:40 -0000, Trent .****of
wrote:

On Wed, 13 Jan 2016 12:03:30 -0000 "Mr Macaw" wrote
in
Message id: :

Just out of interest, how does a hardware bug in a CPU get fixed
by
a
software BIOS update? Isn't the bug a physical misconnection in
the
circuits?

Microcode updates.
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/microcode

So the bug was in the firmware of the CPU, not the physical
circuitry?

I've never heard of or done a CPU firmware update. Are they
included
with motherboard BIOS updates?

Yes, the manufacturer of the MB releases a BIOS update to correct the
issue. For this particular errata, Intel has given the MB
manufacturers
the information needed to do this.

I've read in MB BIOS update instructions that it fixes X to do with
the
CPU, but I always assumed that was a motherboard fault where it didn't
work with new types of CPU etc.

Is that another one you broke on purpose?

I don't have a Skylake. My i5 3570K is working fine. Skylake is only a
third faster, no point in upgrading.

So its just advance planning how to break it when you do get one.


I was just interested how a hardware fault could be fixed by software.
See if I burst my car tyre, can I just upload a fix to my car's on board
computer?


You just download a certain episode of Futurama and it turns into a
hovercar.


Hovervans are more versatile.

--
One workman asks another, "How long have you been working here?"
The other one replies, "Since they threatened to fire me."
  #18  
Old January 21st 16, 10:17 PM posted to comp.sys.intel,alt.electronics
Ian Field
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 37
Default How does the Skylake fix work?

I go fishing; I catch nothing. I go to orgies; I catch everything.


Does the ridge of your helmet look like something's been nibbling at it?
  #19  
Old February 18th 16, 07:57 PM posted to comp.sys.intel,alt.electronics
Mr Macaw
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 8
Default How does the Skylake fix work?

On Thu, 21 Jan 2016 22:17:20 -0000, Ian Field wrote:

I go fishing; I catch nothing. I go to orgies; I catch everything.



Does the ridge of your helmet look like something's been nibbling at it?


https://youtu.be/S6AyWh5j8AQ


--
I took an IQ test and the results were negative.
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
(Skylake) Intel® Core i7-6700K (4.0 to 4.2 ghz 95 watts) vs Intel® Core i7-6700T (2.8 to 3.6 ghz 35 watts) Skybuck Flying[_4_] General 6 September 12th 15 11:37 AM
Skylake just turned into a DUD for me: No BMI ?!? Skybuck Flying[_4_] General 5 August 21st 15 11:41 PM
Why does hd defrag work when they work on virtual/logical blocks rather than physical? Anthony Paul Storage (alt) 17 December 27th 06 10:28 PM
ATI All In Wonder 8500DV problems: I cannot get this card to work in Windows2000,except if I turn the acceleration all the way off.I have tried everything. It will work for about 10-20 minutes,and then all the text just goes berzerk.Looks kinda like TheWalrus Ati Videocards 3 November 8th 04 07:55 PM
FDISK /MBR and fixmbr did not work, but I have a little plan that might work. Harry Nikken General Hardware 2 December 23rd 03 11:28 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2018 ComputerBanter.com.
The comments are property of their posters.