A Computer hardware and components forum. ComputerBanter.com

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » ComputerBanter.com forum » General Hardware & Peripherals » Homebuilt PC's
Site Map Home Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Networking Question?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old January 9th 05, 01:16 PM
Vaughn
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Networking Question?

When computers were first networked, or a little after, it was possible to
network 2 PCs using just a card in each PC, and using a twisted wire link.
No hubs, switches, or anything else was required, pretty good, and very
cheap for gamers.

Now we have wireless cards, is this still possible?

If so again a nice cheep way to concept 2 PCs for gamming.

If not is there a nice cheep answer, or is the use of a HUB, or Router the
only option?

any help most gratefully appreciated.#

Cheers Vaughn


  #2  
Old January 9th 05, 01:41 PM
John McGaw
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Vaughn wrote:
When computers were first networked, or a little after, it was possible to
network 2 PCs using just a card in each PC, and using a twisted wire link.
No hubs, switches, or anything else was required, pretty good, and very
cheap for gamers.

Now we have wireless cards, is this still possible?

If so again a nice cheep way to concept 2 PCs for gamming.

If not is there a nice cheep answer, or is the use of a HUB, or Router the
only option?

any help most gratefully appreciated.#

Cheers Vaughn



http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/u...02april08.mspx

as well as many more which turn up when you google for "ad hoc wireless".

--
John McGaw
[Knoxville, TN, USA]
http://johnmcgaw.com
  #3  
Old January 9th 05, 04:59 PM
David Maynard
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Vaughn wrote:

When computers were first networked, or a little after, it was possible to
network 2 PCs using just a card in each PC, and using a twisted wire link.
No hubs, switches, or anything else was required, pretty good, and very
cheap for gamers.

Now we have wireless cards, is this still possible?


Yes. Operate the wireless adapters in what's called "ad hoc" mode (as
opposed to "infrastructure" mode that requires an access point). The 'air'
is the 'hub'.

Any wireless card on the same frequency with matching SSID can get access
(assuming you get the IPs straight).

If so again a nice cheep way to concept 2 PCs for gamming.


Well, PCI wired ethernet cards are still cheaper than wireless ones and a
lot faster.


If not is there a nice cheep answer, or is the use of a HUB, or Router the
only option?

any help most gratefully appreciated.#

Cheers Vaughn



  #4  
Old January 9th 05, 11:56 PM
john
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

i already have a wired router, 4port, can i add a wireless access point to
get some wireless pci s on line or do i need a wireless router and access
point togther, with the wired router?

thanx john


"David Maynard" wrote in message
...
Vaughn wrote:

When computers were first networked, or a little after, it was possible

to
network 2 PCs using just a card in each PC, and using a twisted wire

link.
No hubs, switches, or anything else was required, pretty good, and very
cheap for gamers.

Now we have wireless cards, is this still possible?


Yes. Operate the wireless adapters in what's called "ad hoc" mode (as
opposed to "infrastructure" mode that requires an access point). The 'air'
is the 'hub'.

Any wireless card on the same frequency with matching SSID can get access
(assuming you get the IPs straight).

If so again a nice cheep way to concept 2 PCs for gamming.


Well, PCI wired ethernet cards are still cheaper than wireless ones and a
lot faster.


If not is there a nice cheep answer, or is the use of a HUB, or Router

the
only option?

any help most gratefully appreciated.#

Cheers Vaughn





  #5  
Old January 10th 05, 01:12 AM
John Weiss
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"john" wrote...
i already have a wired router, 4port, can i add a wireless access point to
get some wireless pci s on line or do i need a wireless router and access
point togther, with the wired router?


You can just add a WAP to the current router.

HOWEVER, wireless routers are not much more expensive than WAPs, because of
their popularity. Also, replacing the current router with a new wireless router
may give you a couple advantages, if you want/need them:

WPA security or better, instead of 128-bit WEP security that is on older and
low-end routers/WAPs.

Speed-enhancing technology such as Linksys' "Speedbooster." IF you will be
doing significant large file transfers between computers, and if you can afford
to put compatible NICs in all your wireless computers, you will get significant
bandwidth improvement.


  #6  
Old January 10th 05, 01:35 AM
john
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

cool

i was going to get the wap from a friend used so it would be cheaper,
however i did notice that wireless routers are not that much more that's why
i wanted to make sure what to do

my real goal is to add a fifth and sixth room to the network that are harder
to wire and since my 4 ports are full i would be getting an additional
something so i thoiught i might take the wireless plunge in 2005

thanx john


"John Weiss" wrote in message
...
"john" wrote...
i already have a wired router, 4port, can i add a wireless access point

to
get some wireless pci s on line or do i need a wireless router and

access
point togther, with the wired router?


You can just add a WAP to the current router.

HOWEVER, wireless routers are not much more expensive than WAPs, because

of
their popularity. Also, replacing the current router with a new wireless

router
may give you a couple advantages, if you want/need them:

WPA security or better, instead of 128-bit WEP security that is on

older and
low-end routers/WAPs.

Speed-enhancing technology such as Linksys' "Speedbooster." IF you

will be
doing significant large file transfers between computers, and if you can

afford
to put compatible NICs in all your wireless computers, you will get

significant
bandwidth improvement.




  #7  
Old January 10th 05, 12:43 PM
David Maynard
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

john wrote:
i already have a wired router, 4port, can i add a wireless access point to
get some wireless pci s on line


Yes

or do i need a wireless router and access
point togther, with the wired router?


No, but WAP/Router combos just as cheap as a WAP alone and give you more
flexibility and features.


thanx john


"David Maynard" wrote in message
...

Vaughn wrote:


When computers were first networked, or a little after, it was possible


to

network 2 PCs using just a card in each PC, and using a twisted wire


link.

No hubs, switches, or anything else was required, pretty good, and very
cheap for gamers.

Now we have wireless cards, is this still possible?


Yes. Operate the wireless adapters in what's called "ad hoc" mode (as
opposed to "infrastructure" mode that requires an access point). The 'air'
is the 'hub'.

Any wireless card on the same frequency with matching SSID can get access
(assuming you get the IPs straight).


If so again a nice cheep way to concept 2 PCs for gamming.


Well, PCI wired ethernet cards are still cheaper than wireless ones and a
lot faster.



If not is there a nice cheep answer, or is the use of a HUB, or Router


the

only option?

any help most gratefully appreciated.#

Cheers Vaughn






 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pentium question Robert Sligh Overclocking AMD Processors 4 April 27th 04 01:13 PM
Real Abit Question Tom Sheen Abit Motherboards 1 April 3rd 04 09:48 PM
Question Regarding Networking a Printer Brian Lamendola Gateway Computers 2 March 15th 04 06:40 AM
Overvolt question... Gambit Overclocking AMD Processors 2 January 26th 04 09:02 PM
BIOS flash question Arno Nuehm Abit Motherboards 4 October 23rd 03 03:28 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2018 ComputerBanter.com.
The comments are property of their posters.