A Computer hardware and components forum. ComputerBanter.com

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » ComputerBanter.com forum » System Manufacturers & Vendors » Acer Computers
Site Map Home Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Acer Aspire 5630 Laptop screen/display problem



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old April 26th 09, 09:11 PM posted to alt.comp.hardware,alt.sys.pc-clone.acer,comp.sys.laptops,uk.comp.sys.laptops
Barry Watzman
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,150
Default Acer Aspire 5630 Laptop screen/display problem

Can you post a screen shot of what the BIOS looks like?

Is there any chance that at some point someone replaced the LCD panel
with a different model?

Pete Zahut wrote:

Thanks Fixer. The problem is still there when looking in the BIOS and even
when running a Linux LiveCD so it's not a Windows driver issue. The problem
is *NOT* there when viewing on an external monitor, so thanks to your
suggestions I'll try a new screen cable first as that's the cheapest )

Thanks mate,

Pete


  #22  
Old April 27th 09, 04:18 AM posted to alt.comp.hardware,alt.sys.pc-clone.acer,comp.sys.laptops,uk.comp.sys.laptops
kony
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 7,439
Default Acer Aspire 5630 Laptop screen/display problem

On Sun, 26 Apr 2009 19:44:03 +0100, "Pete Zahut"
[email protected] wrote:


When you bought the laptop, the panel may have been declared as
"1440x900" or the like. What does the control panel currently claim for
the
resolution setting ?


Actually the laptop belongs to my niece (or it did until recently when she
decided to get a new one and gave this one to me )) so I don't know what
it was declared as when new. When I look in Control Panel, there's a choice
of only two resolutions, 800x600 and 1024x768. There's a tick-box with the
words "Hide resolutions that this panel cannot display" (or something to
that effect) and there is currently a tick in that box. When I deselect that
choice, other resolutions become available, but selecting any of them makes
no change to the width of the display - that 65mm strip of "darkness" is
still there.


You need to uninstall (if one is installed) the video driver
then reinstall it again. It may be found on Acer's site or
Intels. I'd go with Intel's since it is probably newer.
Appears to be Intel 950 video.

Because the driver is not working if present at all, you
won't have the 1280x800 resolution needed. It appears then
that what you see on the right side is simply 1280-1024=256
unused columns of pixels.


Another test you can try, is to boot a Linux LiveCD and do some
testing there. If the same weird effect is present, then the problem
is hardware (panel doing something it shouldn't). If the machine
appears to work normally, running something like Knoppix Linux, then
that would suggest the driver is doing something strange in Windows.


I tried a Linux LiveCD as you suggested Paul and there's no change, the
problem is still there - so it's hardware then. Oh dear (


This is not proof it is hardware, the LiveCD may simply lack
support for the Intel GMA video it appears to use. The bios
is the wild-card, it should fill the whole screen but
because it doesn't offer the native resolution in windows
there does seem to be a driver problem.

One last thought, is it possible the screen on this laptop
has been replaced (presumably due to damage) with the wrong
one?
  #23  
Old April 27th 09, 04:21 AM posted to alt.comp.hardware,alt.sys.pc-clone.acer,comp.sys.laptops,uk.comp.sys.laptops
kony
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 7,439
Default Acer Aspire 5630 Laptop screen/display problem

On Sun, 26 Apr 2009 09:44:06 -0500, "BillW50"
wrote:

In ,
Barry Watzman typed on Sat, 25 Apr 2009 21:55:00 -0400:
"Well after the external video jack (which is analog video), it
gets converted to digital and fed to the LCD display."

This is a driver issue, but that explanation of how things work is
wrong (although irrelevant to the issue). The digital video is
produced natively. The analog video is then produced from that. Not
the other way around.


But Pete (the OP), also stated on the 23rd that he booted up with :
"TuffTest Pro (http://www.tufftest.com/ttp01.htm) that is self-booting,
operating system independent and never goes anywhere near Windows". So
how can it be a Windows driver issue if the problem still exists without
Windows?


Becaues the display adapter isn't stretching non-native
resolutions to fill the entirety of the screen, instead it
is keeping the correct aspect ratio and upsampling.




And it is converted to digital, to analog, and back partially into
digital (a mix of the two). Same thing happens when you plug into an
external LCD monitor as well. As the pixels live in a digital matrix,
while the contrast is controlled by analog means.


It is not converted to analog and then back to digital. It
starts digital and stays digital to output to the LCD panel
built in, or is converted to analog for the output to an
external monitor.
  #24  
Old April 27th 09, 01:05 PM posted to alt.comp.hardware,alt.sys.pc-clone.acer,comp.sys.laptops,uk.comp.sys.laptops
Pete Zahut
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 25
Default Acer Aspire 5630 Laptop screen/display problem

Barry Watzman wrote:
Can you post a screen shot of what the BIOS looks like?


Photo of BIOS screen he

http://s137.photobucket.com/albums/q...=lappyBIOS.jpg

Is there any chance that at some point someone replaced the LCD panel
with a different model?


Just asked my niece and she said no, it's never had a replacement LCD panel.

Pete.

Pete Zahut wrote:

Thanks Fixer. The problem is still there when looking in the BIOS
and even when running a Linux LiveCD so it's not a Windows driver
issue. The problem is *NOT* there when viewing on an external
monitor, so thanks to your suggestions I'll try a new screen cable
first as that's the cheapest ) Thanks mate,

Pete



  #25  
Old April 27th 09, 01:42 PM posted to alt.comp.hardware,alt.sys.pc-clone.acer,comp.sys.laptops,uk.comp.sys.laptops
Pete Zahut
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 25
Default Acer Aspire 5630 Laptop screen/display problem

PS, just flashed BIOS from V2.90 to 3.60 and VGA BIOS from Intel V1264 to
V1377 - but no different.

Pete Zahut wrote:
Barry Watzman wrote:
Can you post a screen shot of what the BIOS looks like?


Photo of BIOS screen he

http://s137.photobucket.com/albums/q...=lappyBIOS.jpg

Is there any chance that at some point someone replaced the LCD panel
with a different model?


Just asked my niece and she said no, it's never had a replacement LCD
panel.
Pete.

Pete Zahut wrote:

Thanks Fixer. The problem is still there when looking in the BIOS
and even when running a Linux LiveCD so it's not a Windows driver
issue. The problem is *NOT* there when viewing on an external
monitor, so thanks to your suggestions I'll try a new screen cable
first as that's the cheapest ) Thanks mate,

Pete



  #26  
Old April 27th 09, 02:41 PM posted to alt.comp.hardware,alt.sys.pc-clone.acer,comp.sys.laptops,uk.comp.sys.laptops
Barry Watzman
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,150
Default Acer Aspire 5630 Laptop screen/display problem

Well, I take back what I said about it being a driver issue. It's
clearly a hardware issue. Any chance that it was flashed with the wrong
bios or that someone changed the LCD panel?


Pete Zahut wrote:
Barry Watzman wrote:
Can you post a screen shot of what the BIOS looks like?


Photo of BIOS screen he

http://s137.photobucket.com/albums/q...=lappyBIOS.jpg

Is there any chance that at some point someone replaced the LCD panel
with a different model?


Just asked my niece and she said no, it's never had a replacement LCD panel.

Pete.

Pete Zahut wrote:
Thanks Fixer. The problem is still there when looking in the BIOS
and even when running a Linux LiveCD so it's not a Windows driver
issue. The problem is *NOT* there when viewing on an external
monitor, so thanks to your suggestions I'll try a new screen cable
first as that's the cheapest ) Thanks mate,

Pete



  #27  
Old April 27th 09, 03:34 PM posted to alt.comp.hardware,alt.sys.pc-clone.acer,comp.sys.laptops,uk.comp.sys.laptops
Paul
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 13,411
Default Acer Aspire 5630 Laptop screen/display problem

Pete Zahut wrote:
PS, just flashed BIOS from V2.90 to 3.60 and VGA BIOS from Intel V1264 to
V1377 - but no different.


If you run the monitor info program here, without the external monitor
connected, and with just the internal LCD panel, does it say the
panel is 1280 x 800 ? An EDID might be a way for the laptop
manufacturer, to provide plug and play info about the panel,
its native size and resolutions. Not having an EDID on some
I2C bus, is not the end of the world, and is not a defect.

http://www.entechtaiwan.com/util/moninfo.shtm

This article mentions that the BIOS can declare some info
about the panel, using an ACPI entry. The BIOS passes ACPI tables
to the operating system. You can look in Device Manager, or
alternately, use Everest Free Edition, to dump a text file
with a lot of that stuff.

http://www.microsoft.com/whdc/archiv...ledisplay.mspx

http://majorgeeks.com/download4181.html

I also noticed, when looking at the Intel driver on the
Acer 5630 download page (acer.co.uk), that it has an option
to define the resolution and refresh rate during installation.
Which is a pretty strange option to see. You'd think that
info would be fixed in some other way. Maybe it is for
development purposes or something, or used to override
some default ?

Paul
  #28  
Old April 27th 09, 04:01 PM posted to alt.comp.hardware,alt.sys.pc-clone.acer,comp.sys.laptops,uk.comp.sys.laptops
BillW50
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,710
Default Acer Aspire 5630 Laptop screen/display problem

In ,
kony typed on Sun, 26 Apr 2009 23:21:01 -0400:
On Sun, 26 Apr 2009 09:44:06 -0500, "BillW50"
wrote:

In ,
Barry Watzman typed on Sat, 25 Apr 2009 21:55:00 -0400:
"Well after the external video jack (which is analog video), it
gets converted to digital and fed to the LCD display."

This is a driver issue, but that explanation of how things work is
wrong (although irrelevant to the issue). The digital video is
produced natively. The analog video is then produced from that.
Not the other way around.


But Pete (the OP), also stated on the 23rd that he booted up with :
"TuffTest Pro (http://www.tufftest.com/ttp01.htm) that is
self-booting, operating system independent and never goes anywhere
near Windows". So how can it be a Windows driver issue if the
problem still exists without Windows?


Becaues the display adapter isn't stretching non-native
resolutions to fill the entirety of the screen, instead it
is keeping the correct aspect ratio and upsampling.

And it is converted to digital, to analog, and back partially into
digital (a mix of the two). Same thing happens when you plug into an
external LCD monitor as well. As the pixels live in a digital matrix,
while the contrast is controlled by analog means.


It is not converted to analog and then back to digital. It
starts digital and stays digital to output to the LCD panel
built in, or is converted to analog for the output to an
external monitor.


Are you saying the brightness and contrast (also gray scales) are
adjusted digitally? How can that be? As it is an analog voltage that
controls this on every pixel on a LCD screen.

--
Bill
Asus EEE PC 701G4 ~ 2GB RAM ~ 16GB-SDHC
Windows XP SP2


  #29  
Old April 27th 09, 05:27 PM posted to alt.comp.hardware,alt.sys.pc-clone.acer,comp.sys.laptops,uk.comp.sys.laptops
Pete Zahut
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 25
Default Acer Aspire 5630 Laptop screen/display problem

Paul wrote:
Pete Zahut wrote:
PS, just flashed BIOS from V2.90 to 3.60 and VGA BIOS from Intel
V1264 to V1377 - but no different.


If you run the monitor info program here, without the external monitor
connected, and with just the internal LCD panel, does it say the
panel is 1280 x 800 ? An EDID might be a way for the laptop
manufacturer, to provide plug and play info about the panel,
its native size and resolutions. Not having an EDID on some
I2C bus, is not the end of the world, and is not a defect.

http://www.entechtaiwan.com/util/moninfo.shtm


Right Paul, we're getting into major stuff that I know nothing about here
mate )

Having run the moninfo program you mention above, there seems to be varying
info (mentions Philips, NEC, Microsoft - can't all have manufactured it can
they?) so I'll apologise now for making this post so long but I thought
you'd need all the info. Here's a "cut and paste" from that program:

MS_0003 (Registry*)

Monitor
Windows description...... Digital Flat Panel (1024x768)
Manufacturer............. Microsoft
Plug and Play ID......... MS_0003
Serial number............ 3
Manufacture date......... 2002, ISO week 0
-------------------------
EDID revision............ 1.3
Input signal type........ Digital
Color bit depth.......... Undefined
Display type............. RGB color
Screen size.............. 2550 x 2550 mm
Power management......... Standby, Suspend
Extension blocs.......... None
-------------------------
DDC/CI................... n/a

Color characteristics
Default color space...... sRGB
Display gamma............ 3.55
Red chromaticity......... Rx 0.625 - Ry 0.340
Green chromaticity....... Gx 0.285 - Gy 0.605
Blue chromaticity........ Bx 0.148 - By 0.063
White point (default).... Wx 0.281 - Wy 0.309
Additional descriptors... None

Timing characteristics
Horizontal scan range.... 0-235kHz
Vertical scan range...... 0-60Hz
Video bandwidth.......... 70MHz
CVT standard............. Not supported
GTF standard............. Supported
Additional descriptors... None
Preferred timing......... Yes
Native/preferred timing.. 1024x768p at 60Hz
Modeline............... "1024x768" 65.000 1024 1048 1184 1344 768 769
775 806 -hsync -vsync

Standard timings supported

&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&& &&&&&&&&&&

LPL0000 (registry)

Monitor
Windows description...... Plug and Play Monitor
Manufacturer............. LPL
Plug and Play ID......... LPL0000
Data string.............. LGPhilipsLCD LP154W01-TLA1
Serial number............ n/a
Manufacture date......... 2005, ISO week 0
-------------------------
EDID revision............ 1.2
Input signal type........ Digital
Color bit depth.......... Undefined
Display type............. RGB color
Screen size.............. 330 x 210 mm (15.4 in)
Power management......... Not supported
Extension blocs.......... None
-------------------------
DDC/CI................... n/a

Color characteristics
Default color space...... Non-sRGB
Display gamma............ 2.20
Red chromaticity......... Rx 0.590 - Ry 0.344
Green chromaticity....... Gx 0.323 - Gy 0.534
Blue chromaticity........ Bx 0.156 - By 0.138
White point (default).... Wx 0.313 - Wy 0.328
Additional descriptors... None

Timing characteristics
Range limits............. Not available
GTF standard............. Not supported
Additional descriptors... None
Preferred timing......... Yes
Native/preferred timing.. 1280x800p at 60Hz
Modeline............... "1280x800" 71.250 1280 1328 1360 1440 800 802
808 823 -hsync -vsync

Standard timings supported

&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&& &&&&&&&&&

NEC61BE (registry)

Monitor
Windows description...... Plug and Play Monitor
Manufacturer............. NEC
Plug and Play ID......... NEC61BE
Serial number............ 1278
Manufacture date......... 2001, ISO week 27
-------------------------
EDID revision............ 1.3
Input signal type........ Digital
Color bit depth.......... Undefined
Display type............. RGB color
Screen size.............. 2550 x 2550 mm
Power management......... Standby, Suspend
Extension blocs.......... None
-------------------------
DDC/CI................... n/a

Color characteristics
Default color space...... sRGB
Display gamma............ 3.55
Red chromaticity......... Rx 0.625 - Ry 0.340
Green chromaticity....... Gx 0.285 - Gy 0.605
Blue chromaticity........ Bx 0.148 - By 0.063
White point (default).... Wx 0.281 - Wy 0.309
Additional descriptors... None

Timing characteristics
Horizontal scan range.... 27-60kHz
Vertical scan range...... 56-75Hz
Video bandwidth.......... 90MHz
CVT standard............. Not supported
GTF standard............. Not supported
Additional descriptors... None
Preferred timing......... Yes
Native/preferred timing.. 1024x768p at 75Hz
Modeline............... "1024x768" 81.800 1024 1080 1192 1360 768 769
772 802 -hsync +vsync
Detailed timing #1....... 640x480p at 56Hz
Modeline............... "640x480" 22.220 640 656 720 800 480 481 484
496 -hsync +vsync

Standard timings supported

&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&& &&&&&&&

NUL0001 (registry)

Monitor
Windows description...... Plug and Play Monitor
Manufacturer............. NUL
Plug and Play ID......... NUL0001
Serial number............ 1
Manufacture date......... 2002, ISO week 32
-------------------------
EDID revision............ 1.3
Input signal type........ Analog 0.700,0.300 (1.0V p-p)
Sync input support....... Separate
Display type............. RGB color
Screen size.............. 340 x 270 mm (17.1 in)
Power management......... Standby, Suspend
Extension blocs.......... None
-------------------------
DDC/CI................... n/a

Color characteristics
Default color space...... Non-sRGB
Display gamma............ 1.00
Red chromaticity......... Rx 0.609 - Ry 0.352
Green chromaticity....... Gx 0.303 - Gy 0.550
Blue chromaticity........ Bx 0.148 - By 0.128
White point (default).... Wx 0.305 - Wy 0.342
Additional descriptors... None

Timing characteristics
Range limits............. Not available
GTF standard............. Not supported
Additional descriptors... None
Preferred timing......... Yes
Native/preferred timing.. 1280x1024p at 60Hz (5:4)
Modeline............... "1280x1024" 108.000 1280 1328 1440 1688 1024
1025 1028 1066 +hsync +vsync

Standard timings supported
720 x 400p at 70Hz - IBM VGA
640 x 480p at 60Hz - IBM VGA
640 x 480p at 72Hz - VESA
640 x 480p at 75Hz - VESA
800 x 600p at 56Hz - VESA
800 x 600p at 60Hz - VESA
800 x 600p at 72Hz - VESA
800 x 600p at 75Hz - VESA
1024 x 768p at 60Hz - VESA
1024 x 768p at 70Hz - VESA
1024 x 768p at 75Hz - VESA
1280 x 1024p at 75Hz - VESA
1280 x 1024p at 60Hz - VESA STD

Sorry again for such a long post.

This article mentions that the BIOS can declare some info
about the panel, using an ACPI entry. The BIOS passes ACPI tables
to the operating system. You can look in Device Manager, or
alternately, use Everest Free Edition, to dump a text file
with a lot of that stuff.

http://www.microsoft.com/whdc/archiv...ledisplay.mspx

http://majorgeeks.com/download4181.html


Everest says that it doesn't fully support my chipset (Intel Calistoga
i945GM/PM) but it's probably just as well or there would be much more info
)

I also noticed, when looking at the Intel driver on the
Acer 5630 download page (acer.co.uk), that it has an option
to define the resolution and refresh rate during installation.
Which is a pretty strange option to see. You'd think that
info would be fixed in some other way. Maybe it is for
development purposes or something, or used to override
some default ?

Paul


Thanks again for your time mate,

Pete


  #30  
Old April 28th 09, 12:02 AM posted to alt.comp.hardware,alt.sys.pc-clone.acer,comp.sys.laptops,uk.comp.sys.laptops
Fixer
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 211
Default Acer Aspire 5630 Laptop screen/display problem

For christs sake stop trying to reinvent the wheel. The problem has been
solved he has the answer, its the panel or cable he knows what it is stop
confusing the guy




"Barry Watzman" wrote in message
...
Well, I take back what I said about it being a driver issue. It's clearly
a hardware issue. Any chance that it was flashed with the wrong bios or
that someone changed the LCD panel?


Pete Zahut wrote:
Barry Watzman wrote:
Can you post a screen shot of what the BIOS looks like?


Photo of BIOS screen he

http://s137.photobucket.com/albums/q...=lappyBIOS.jpg

Is there any chance that at some point someone replaced the LCD panel
with a different model?


Just asked my niece and she said no, it's never had a replacement LCD
panel.

Pete.

Pete Zahut wrote:
Thanks Fixer. The problem is still there when looking in the BIOS
and even when running a Linux LiveCD so it's not a Windows driver
issue. The problem is *NOT* there when viewing on an external
monitor, so thanks to your suggestions I'll try a new screen cable
first as that's the cheapest ) Thanks mate,

Pete



 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Acer 3680 laptop broken screen problem Grendal General Hardware 0 December 31st 08 11:45 PM
Acer Aspire 3103 Broken Display Mapin Acer Computers 3 June 11th 07 12:01 AM
Dual Display on Acer Aspire 3003WLCi Tony Acer Computers 0 November 18th 05 03:48 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2018 ComputerBanter.com.
The comments are property of their posters.