A Computer hardware and components forum. ComputerBanter.com

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » ComputerBanter.com forum » Processors » General
Site Map Home Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Realtek onboard LAN doesn't work above 10 Mbps



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old December 30th 10, 08:06 PM posted to alt.windows7.general,microsoft.public.windowsxp.hardware,comp.sys.ibm.pc.hardware.chips
Yousuf Khan[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,216
Default Realtek onboard LAN doesn't work above 10 Mbps

Issue affects Windows 7, Windows XP, and Ubuntu Linux.

As of yesterday, my onboard Realtek Gigabit Ethernet NIC stopped working
fully. It's a "Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller", model RTL8167. It
was the NIC built into the motherboard of my PC, which is an ASUS
M4A785-M. Initially, it wasn't working at all when plugged into my
router, so I plugged it into a separate hub, and it somehow got working
at the lowest possible speed of 10 Mbps. This NIC has previously worked
both at 100 Mbps, and 1 Gbps!

I also tried this under Ubuntu Linux, thinking maybe it's a Windows
driver problem, but the same problem occurs under Linux, so it's looking
like a real hardware problem. Perhaps it's an autodetect issue, is there
some way to hard-code it to run at 100 Mbps or 1 Gbps, without going
through autodetection?

Yousuf Khan
  #2  
Old December 30th 10, 08:22 PM posted to alt.windows7.general,microsoft.public.windowsxp.hardware,comp.sys.ibm.pc.hardware.chips
Big Steel[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 15
Default Realtek onboard LAN doesn't work above 10 Mbps

On Thu, 30 Dec 2010 15:06:31 -0500, Yousuf Khan
wrote:
Issue affects Windows 7, Windows XP, and Ubuntu Linux.



As of yesterday, my onboard Realtek Gigabit Ethernet NIC stopped

working
fully. It's a "Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller", model RTL8167.

It
was the NIC built into the motherboard of my PC, which is an ASUS
M4A785-M. Initially, it wasn't working at all when plugged into my
router, so I plugged it into a separate hub, and it somehow got

working
at the lowest possible speed of 10 Mbps. This NIC has previously

worked
both at 100 Mbps, and 1 Gbps!



I also tried this under Ubuntu Linux, thinking maybe it's a Windows
driver problem, but the same problem occurs under Linux, so it's

looking
like a real hardware problem. Perhaps it's an autodetect issue, is

there
some way to hard-code it to run at 100 Mbps or 1 Gbps, without going
through autodetection?


It doesn't make a difference if you hard code or not. If it's
defective, then it's defective.

--
posted with a Droid
  #3  
Old December 30th 10, 08:44 PM posted to alt.windows7.general,microsoft.public.windowsxp.hardware,comp.sys.ibm.pc.hardware.chips
Joe Morris[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 5
Default Realtek onboard LAN doesn't work above 10 Mbps

"Yousuf Khan" wrote:

Issue affects Windows 7, Windows XP, and Ubuntu Linux.

As of yesterday, my onboard Realtek Gigabit Ethernet NIC stopped working
fully. It's a "Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller", model RTL8167. It
was the NIC built into the motherboard of my PC, which is an ASUS
M4A785-M. Initially, it wasn't working at all when plugged into my
router, so I plugged it into a separate hub, and it somehow got working
at the lowest possible speed of 10 Mbps. This NIC has previously worked
both at 100 Mbps, and 1 Gbps!

I also tried this under Ubuntu Linux, thinking maybe it's a Windows
driver problem, but the same problem occurs under Linux, so it's looking
like a real hardware problem. Perhaps it's an autodetect issue, is there
some way to hard-code it to run at 100 Mbps or 1 Gbps, without going
through autodetection?


Assuming that the NIC hasn't experienced a hardware failure, try using a
different cable. Bad network cables (open/short/noisy/whatever) can cause
all sorts of "interesting" symptoms. For the same reason, examine the
sockets on both the NIC and the router for damage.

Joe Morris


  #4  
Old December 30th 10, 09:46 PM posted to alt.windows7.general,microsoft.public.windowsxp.hardware,comp.sys.ibm.pc.hardware.chips
daytripper
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 263
Default Realtek onboard LAN doesn't work above 10 Mbps

On Thu, 30 Dec 2010 15:06:31 -0500, Yousuf Khan
wrote:

Issue affects Windows 7, Windows XP, and Ubuntu Linux.

As of yesterday, my onboard Realtek Gigabit Ethernet NIC stopped working
fully. It's a "Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller", model RTL8167. It
was the NIC built into the motherboard of my PC, which is an ASUS
M4A785-M. Initially, it wasn't working at all when plugged into my
router, so I plugged it into a separate hub, and it somehow got working
at the lowest possible speed of 10 Mbps. This NIC has previously worked
both at 100 Mbps, and 1 Gbps!

I also tried this under Ubuntu Linux, thinking maybe it's a Windows
driver problem, but the same problem occurs under Linux, so it's looking
like a real hardware problem. Perhaps it's an autodetect issue, is there
some way to hard-code it to run at 100 Mbps or 1 Gbps, without going
through autodetection?

Yousuf Khan


Under Windows Device Manager you can find adapter-specific settings that may
include the ability to force a specific speed. It won't fix a hardware problem
but it might be useful in diagnosis.

As for your specific problem, presuming you've eliminated the network cable
and any other external influences such that the problem is at or behind the IO
panel connector for the nic, one common failure mode - and frankly about the
only one a user has much chance of fixing in the field - is a solder joint
gone bad, which can often be diagnosed by gently flexing the connector body
while the nic is cabled to a working 100Mbit or Gbit port, and checking to see
if the status LEDs change state...

/daytripper
  #5  
Old December 30th 10, 09:58 PM posted to alt.windows7.general,microsoft.public.windowsxp.hardware,comp.sys.ibm.pc.hardware.chips
Yousuf Khan[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,216
Default Realtek onboard LAN doesn't work above 10 Mbps

On 30/12/2010 3:44 PM, Joe Morris wrote:
Assuming that the NIC hasn't experienced a hardware failure, try using a
different cable. Bad network cables (open/short/noisy/whatever) can cause
all sorts of "interesting" symptoms. For the same reason, examine the
sockets on both the NIC and the router for damage.


Already tried that. Tried about 3 different cables lying around here.

Yousuf Khan
  #6  
Old December 31st 10, 09:50 AM posted to comp.sys.ibm.pc.hardware.chips
Kai Harrekilde-Petersen
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 16
Default Realtek onboard LAN doesn't work above 10 Mbps

Yousuf Khan writes:

Issue affects Windows 7, Windows XP, and Ubuntu Linux.

As of yesterday, my onboard Realtek Gigabit Ethernet NIC stopped working
fully. It's a "Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller", model RTL8167. It
was the NIC built into the motherboard of my PC, which is an ASUS
M4A785-M. Initially, it wasn't working at all when plugged into my
router, so I plugged it into a separate hub, and it somehow got working
at the lowest possible speed of 10 Mbps. This NIC has previously worked
both at 100 Mbps, and 1 Gbps!


Sounds like going into a fall-back mode. Have you tried a third
switch/router? - or just connecting it directly to another computer?
You might not get an IP address, but the auto-negotiation should still
work and give you a link speed/mode.

Perhaps it's an autodetect issue, is there
some way to hard-code it to run at 100 Mbps or 1 Gbps, without going
through autodetection?


Yes, through the PHY. But in that case you MUST disable auto-negotiation
at both ends of the link (and set them to the same mode).

Good luck,


Kai
--
Kai Harrekilde-Petersen khp(at)harrekilde(dot)dk
  #7  
Old December 31st 10, 02:54 PM posted to comp.sys.ibm.pc.hardware.chips
Yousuf Khan[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,216
Default Realtek onboard LAN doesn't work above 10 Mbps

On 31/12/2010 4:50 AM, Kai Harrekilde-Petersen wrote:
Yousuf writes:

Issue affects Windows 7, Windows XP, and Ubuntu Linux.

As of yesterday, my onboard Realtek Gigabit Ethernet NIC stopped working
fully. It's a "Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller", model RTL8167. It
was the NIC built into the motherboard of my PC, which is an ASUS
M4A785-M. Initially, it wasn't working at all when plugged into my
router, so I plugged it into a separate hub, and it somehow got working
at the lowest possible speed of 10 Mbps. This NIC has previously worked
both at 100 Mbps, and 1 Gbps!


Sounds like going into a fall-back mode. Have you tried a third
switch/router? - or just connecting it directly to another computer?
You might not get an IP address, but the auto-negotiation should still
work and give you a link speed/mode.


Well, I did try connecting the interface directly into the broadband
modem, bypassing the routers, switches, etc. It wouldn't work there
either with autonegotiate on.

However, a strange development happened last night. I bought a new
gigabit network card for the machine, and got it working, moved the
cable from the onboard NIC to the add-in NIC, etc. Everything was
working like normal with the new NIC. Then a couple of hours later, I
tried the onboard NIC again, by plugging a second cable into it, and
strangely enough it worked again! I'm not saying that the addition of
the add-in NIC caused the onboard NIC to work again, it's just a
coincidence. Perhaps it required a few hours of "rest"? In fact, both
NICs were working simultaneously at gigabit speeds! Gremlins in the system.

Perhaps it's an autodetect issue, is there
some way to hard-code it to run at 100 Mbps or 1 Gbps, without going
through autodetection?


Yes, through the PHY. But in that case you MUST disable auto-negotiation
at both ends of the link (and set them to the same mode).

Good luck,


Ah, okay that might explain why non-autonegotiate never worked, as I
didn't hard code it into the switcher end too. I just changed it at the
computer end, that's all.

Yousuf Khan
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EVGA X58 SLI motherboard's Realtek onboard audio is weak comparedto Creative sound cards? Ant[_3_] PC Soundcards 0 December 23rd 10 04:44 AM
EVGA X58 SLI motherboard's Realtek onboard audio is weak comparedto Creative sound cards? Ant[_3_] PC Soundcards 0 December 21st 10 04:10 PM
Onboard Realtek Nic - No lights ?? Ellie Gigbyte Motherboards 1 April 4th 07 02:47 AM
Onboard Realtek Nic - No lights ?? Ellie General 3 April 1st 07 11:04 PM
realtek audio won't work with WMA billb Homebuilt PC's 7 March 9th 05 03:20 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2018 ComputerBanter.com.
The comments are property of their posters.